How to Buy WLS with BTS and Use It to Power Up on Your Whaleshare Account

in #whaleshares6 years ago

wlsbuy.jpg

So for some reason, @kenistyles has decided that I am a whizz at bitshares, as I know how to buy WLS and get them onto my account, so I hope not to disappoint with this tutorial. :)

For the purposes of this tutorial, I am going to assume that you have a bitshares account already. If not there is a note at the end on which Dex I recommend signing up with and why.

And indeed, I'm also presuming you have some bitshares, if this is an oversight, please let me know and I'll do another video or point you in the right direction for more help.

(Also please excuse the rookie mistake of forgetting to hide the Loom video recorder info bit, next time I will remember to press ‘Hide’ if I don’t have to pay for it.)

edupost.png

VIDEO VERSION

edupost.png

edupost.png

TEXT/SCREENSHOT VERSION

edupost.png

So here we go, with the screenshot/text version…

Step 1:


Log onto Rudex with your Bitshare details: https://rudex.org/index_eng.html

rudex1.png

edupost.png

Step 2:


Paste in the pairing URL: https://market.rudex.org/#/market/RUDEX.WLS_BTS

rudex2.png

edupost.png

Step 3:


Fill out the Buy details for your WLS order

You will need to set your asking price - I am going to go with the lowest ask price.

Then decide if you want to enter how WLS you want to buy with BTS, or how many BTS you want to spend to buy WLS and press buy.

rudex 3.png

(NB: you can use lowest ask price, but bear in mind that amount is not set in stone and the market goes up and down and you might want to consider entering a lower ammonite, but its unlikely that your order will be fulfilled straight away unless you put in lowest ask price)

Then you will need to confirm the order (it may ask you for your password here to confirm)

rudex4.png

edupost.png

Step 4:


After your order has been fulfilled (or to check it has been fulfilled, go to your account…

rudex5.png

And locate the WLS you just bought and press the little triangle to send.

rudex6.png

edupost.png

Step 5:


Fill out the transfer details

  • Add rudex-whaleshares as the receiver
  • The amount of Whaleshares you would like to transfer
  • And enter wls:yourusername in the memo, so in my case it would be wls:hopehuggs

Adding wls: is very important and transfer won’t work without it.

rudex7.png

Press send

rudex8.png

Again you will need to confirm the transaction.

rudex9.png

edupost.png

Step 6:


Wait about 60 seconds for the transaction to go through…

edupost.png

Step 7:


Go to the wallet section of your Whaleshares account

rudex10.png

and you will see your amount sitting in the WLS section

rudex11.png

edupost.png

Step 8:


Select power up

rudex12.png

edupost.png

Step 9:


Enter in your username and your active key to confirm…

rudex13.png

edupost.png

Step 10:


Voila success, you have powered up your WLS into WHALESTAKE

rudex14.png

edupost.png

What to Do if You Accidentally Make A Mistake and Forget to Put the wls: in the memo (like I did the first time around).

edupost.png

Step 1:


Don’t panic

edupost.png

Step 2:


Take a screenshot of your transaction with what you wrote in the memo, you can find that in Activity section of your account (you may need to login and enter your password again to see memo entry.)

rudex15.png

edupost.png

Step 3:

Open https://rudex.freshdesk.com/support/tickets/new and create a ticket detailing the issue, attach the screenshot and prove you are not a robot and send.

rudex16.png

edupost.png

Step 3:


Rudex returns your errant WLS to your Bitshares account.

rudex17.png

edupost.png

Important End Note:

edupost.png

If You don’t have a bitshares account, I highly recommend signing up with the EasyDex Exchange as they are the only bitshares exchange that has a password recovery service, which is an invaluable service and their customer service is awesome.

(In fact, its absolutely worth setting up a new bitshares account with them just for that safety net).

You can use the same log in details on any of the other bitshares Dex interchangeably, like Rudex and Open Ledger.

Here is a video showing you step by step how to sign up...

So to sign up on this dex, go here: http://www.easydexexchange.com

It is also worth noting that Easydex also has a WLS gateway and it can be bought and sold on that exchange too. In fact, the process is more simple as demonstrated by @cryptobillion here:

But more people need to know about it and start using it.

So now you know too :)

I hope this information and tutorial was of use and let me know if there is anything else that you’d like me to demonstrate via video and screenshot.

I kind of enjoyed doing that although it took me a few days to complete.

Laters

Hope Huggs xx

Sort:  

I have already lost a bunch of bitshares on opendex, and I still have my password :) Aparently there is another part, 'brain key'. They said remember your password and I did.

But - if you wouldn't mind explaining or linking me to an explanation - what is whaleshares and why should I care?

I've been hearing a lot about WhaleShares as well... but haven't got around to checking it out yet.
what is whaleshares and why should I care? ... please let me know if you do find out @ecoinstant

I will surely answer in more detail tomorrow, just been tied up with a couple of things today - good question though :)

Thank you and I look forward to that! If you do a whole post about it, do me a favor and tag me :)

They baited me telling me they'll make me an account then at the last minute switched it for I have to pay for the account with my BTS... I was very peeved, I had to complain at the discord channel all morning before they refunded me.

@kenistyles was totally right!

You nailed this tutorial and putting in all failures I also have made already :DDDD

That's an awesome tutorial thanks for sharing it dear : )

thank you, I really like doing these. There will be more on various things :)

why is there a freezepeach vote here?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82