Whale Consideration: Many Of Them Want To See Other Succeed: Thank You For The Anonymous DelegationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #whales7 years ago (edited)

A lot of attention gets placed on the behavior of the whales. They are the power players so that is to be expected. From what I can gather, collectively they get a very bad rap from the rest of the user base. Sure, there are some bad apples who engage in behavior many deem less than ethical. Yes, some spend most of their time trying to rig things. Others operate in a totally selfish way with little regard for anyone else. This is not exclusive to this site; it is true for any cross-section of society.

That said, I find that most are not in this category. The vast percentage of whales I encountered seem exactly the opposite. They are earnestly doing their best to make steemit and the steem blockchain highly successful. They understand that success of newer people is crucial. Many of them are looking out for those people who are trying to improve this place. Post, comment, and upvote is the steemit program. Whales realize it takes a lot of members engaging in this if things are going to take off.

Whales have a lot of power. They are often accused of trying to hoard it all to themselves. Over the past couple weeks I highlighted a couple who are actually spreading their power around. @fulltimegeek and @stellabelle are two such whales who are delegating their power to help others succeed. @transisto has been very forthcoming when he feels that his fellow whales need to be called out. And recently a bunch of whales got together to make a point to a particular poster who they felt was operating in ways that went against the spirit of what is trying to be accomplished here. I also noticed many whales giving me a small upvote on my articles and comments which is greatly appreciated.

The longer I am here, the more I find this benevolent behavior. Last night I went to steemnow.com to check on my voting power only to realize the value of my vote jump. This wasn't the jump that comes from a couple hours going b; this was a 1/3 jump. I checked my wallet and there was a 5K SP sent anonymously.

So I would like to publicly thank whoever it was who sent that delegation to me. I am honored that you feel my efforts are worth it.

It is this behavior that will ensure that steemit is going to exceed in a huge way. There are many actions like that taking place daily which are all having a positive effect. I admit that I am doing all I can to help push this site forward with my posts, comments, and upvotes. I took one minnow under my wing and am trying to help her get to 1,000 SP as quickly as we can. Daily I look to use my allotted voting power so others can get the due percentage of the reward pool. Finally, I look to comment as much as I can. Post, comment, upvote, it really is a simple model.

People seem to like to get discouraged and buy into the negativity. It is true, when you come on here, people are not simply going to hand it all to you. However, I did learn when you are here a while and, if you are doing all you can to move steemit forward, some might hand you SP without even telling you. This is how this community operates.

Once again, thank you to whomever sent that delegation and I will work hard to make sure I use it responsibly.

If you found this article informative, please give it an upvote and a re-steem.

Pictures by google images

Sort:  

wauw

Ha ha, it doesn't take a genius to understand that if you're the king of a town with no people, are you really a king at all?

LOL So much for the anonymity.

Ironic, I just wrote a post about @fulltimegeek giving all his money away. He gave me 5K SP a few weeks back and I guess he took that out and made it 10K.

Thank you @fulltimegeek. I do appreciate it.

And what's most important is that you're engaging good people who are working hard for Steemit. Congratulations!

You deserve it man, you're a true believer!

That is great news and i am sure you will use it very wisely

This is fantastic and the minnow/redfish you took under your wing is very grateful!!! Getting there......

The whale conspiracies make no sense. Yes there a few idiots, but those heavily invested stand to make far more from a rise in steem value then they would from harming the platform for some small payouts.

@taskmaster4450: Thanks for the informative post. It's important to know there's the other side to the coin. As someone new on here, we see a lot of negativity around whales. This post deserves a big upvote and resteem. So you got it buddy. :)

You, by your work, deserve this delegation. Thanks to the person who did this. And, I congratulate you on recognition.

Very useful and helpful informations thanks to share it..

Thank you for this post! It was very informative for me, since I'm new to this platform. I agree with some of the things you state, other things were new info. Resteemed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65670.18
ETH 2575.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65