You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: The Whale Gossip Column Of Privileged Authors Competing for Whale Nipple

in #whales8 years ago (edited)

I think I was in a dialog with you (perhaps related to religion and science). I do engage in those sometimes. I can tell you when I am posting on a topic like that I need to be in the right frame of mind as it often tends to be that anyone coming at it from a religious perspective gets a ton of up votes, while I am likely sitting there at zero. I do have some great discussions, but that gives the strong impression of talking to people that absolutely 100% have made up their mind. I am not such a person. I debate in civility with people I disagree with because that is when I learn the most. I don't change my views on faith, that will not sway me, but my views do change with such discussions. I respect the freedom of religion and I am certain I had some dialog with you. I wanted you to know I probably will again, but I can only handle talking to people that have an unwavering viewpoint when I am in the right frame of mind. I am not saying that was you, that simply was the type of discussing where I believe our paths crossed.

Hang in there. Steem / Steemit is a very great creation. I believe you'll have more and more dialog as time goes on. We are small in numbers at the moment when you compare us to existing social media. This is not a bad thing while it is in beta. It also gives you a head start on building up steem power and followers.

Sort:  

Yes, we did have such a conversation. :)

I too debate with an open mind, but there has to be new information or a new perspective presented for me to even think about changing my stance. In our conversation I felt no new information was presented and that we were talking about the same things using different words, so I agreed to disagree. I thoroughly enjoyed the conversation though, a healthy debate between two or a group of people allows for wondrous amounts of growth - even if its not on the topic discussed.

I appreciate your support very much.

I agree there does need to be different information. It was my hope that for others that there was some new perspectives. :) Anyway, hang in there... you've got a good mind and were civil. Those are two great things. You will have other good dialogs, and some of them may even be with me. :)