The most stressful job in the world being a Bartender 🍸🍾🍺

in #whalepower6 years ago (edited)

Image source


I read I article a few days ago and it was about the most stressful jobs in the world today. Among the listings were jobs like flight controller, a heart surgeon, pilots, policemen/woman, firefighter, stockbrokers ...and so on. In the top 10 or so was the job bartender or waiting staff. And most of you who did not worked in this profession will say OH man that is so easy everyone can do that where is the stress in handing out drinks to drunk people.

I myself used to work for a few years in bars and restaurants during university and later on. It started out as a summer job during my college years nice way to earn some cash. For those of you tunning in for the first time, I live in Croatia which is pretty tourism-oriented and jobs in this industry can be found easily. One thing led to another my university education did not help at all to find a better job. I have a bachelors degree in archaeology making my masters and it is not worth, not even the paper it is printed on. But this is a topic for another time 😁

Back then it was the perfect gig it is a cash business, you get paid under the table and there are tips so cash to get by until payday. There are some more perks when you are in your 20s one of them is you have unlimited access to alcohol which is always a good point. The party never ends in those years there is also sex women or men or whatever you prefer.

Later on, when you get older you really don't care about that stuff anymore. I mean you get older your priorities change and if they do not you are an idiot, to be honest. The job starts really drains you physically and mentally. You work long hours standing on your feet for 8, 10, 12 hours, you work on holidays when everyone has the day off, loud music day and night, your eating habits and nutrition go flying out the window, you start to eat shit and irregularly or smoke two packs of cigarettes a day. The list goes on and on but the worst is the in my case was the dead end you don't move up or down and you don't grow in your work environment. You are looked down upon and are unappreciated. That is the reason why I made a career change still tourist oriented but more challenging. For those of you who are tending bar, you will know what I am talking about and I did not even get started on the customers and the dumb ass questions and requests they mostly have and will have. I mean that aspect will never change for as long as there is humanity.

This brings us to one more thing for those with the blablabla attitude that I am talking about an easy job. You're constantly engaged upon by customers by the management or the shit for brains boss you have. In other high-stress professions, you have control and appreciation for what you do like teachers or doctors also a high-stress job but mostly happy people after work. As a bartender at the end of your shift first thing you need is few drinks to get you leveled or something harder and stronger.

To help you nonservice industry working folk I will give you a few tips now so you might consider or even think about the next time you see a pissed off bartender/waiter.


He or she is probably pissed off for a very good reason so here we go.

  1. BE POLITE - Good day, good night, thank you, please, you came to me I do not need a drink from you. These words are not that hard to pronounce and believe you me they are fucking magic words, they will open doors you never knew were there.

  2. I AM NOT A MIND READER - If I could do that I would not tend bar I would have my own show in Las Vegas like Siegfried and Roy with tigers, fireworks, and shit. Tell me what you want a simple beer or a coffee won't cut it this is not 1776.

  3. SPECIAL TREATMENT AND WISHES - You are not the Queen of England there for you are not special to anyone.

  4. COMPLAINING THAT YOU ARE WAITING FOR 15 MIN - Especially when it is a busy day/night. I don't give a fuck get up and go somewhere else.

  5. DONT WHISTLE, YELL, SHOUT OR SNAP YOUR FINGERS - To get the attention of the staff, first, it is extremely rude so check #1 again. Second, you would not do that in the real world someone would break your finger think about that.

  6. INTERRUPTING THE MAN WHILE HE/SHE IS WORKING - Wait your turn it will not speed up your order the opposite will happen.

  7. CUSTOMER IS KING/QUEEN - shove it up yours, you are no king/queen and this is not your castle behave normal and nice check #1 again.

  8. DONT SAY THE DRINK IS NOT STRONG ENOUGH - And you cant taste the alcohol that is the point you moron go and drink rubbing alcohol you begging deadbeat.

  9. DONT ASK FOR FREE DRINKS - Or a round on the house we had a few blablaba, how much I need to spend to get one on the house blablabla. If you follow #1. maybe you will get one on the house. In the meanwhile here you go

  10. MAKING A MESS - Do that at home I have enough to do and cleaning up after you if just rude and most do not have the time for that.

And the worst fucking thing one can do is not to tip or leave a shity tip. My coworker used to say Tiping in not a town in China. It is a sign of appreciation look at it like Steemit investing in good relations it will help you in the future believe me I know.

I am sure the list could go on and on and on like the Energizer bunny but I leave that to you let me know your experience in the comments below the god, the bad or the funny I don't care.


Good luck to all of you until next time @zija2022 and as always resteem follow if you like this post 😁

Sort:  

Take-away? Please, be kind and considerate! I can't imagine someone doing all these things described here, but I know it happens. People can be so selfish sometimes. @ironshield

@ironshield yes they do and sometimes too much. I just wanted to point out the unthankful position of service industry workers with a few examples.

Ko nije gledao film Waiting... treba da pogleda! 😁
Inače, konobarisala sam par godina tokom studija i svega sam se nagledala i naslušala. Ljudi u Americi odu kod psihijatra, plate debelo da slušaju njihova sranja, a kod nas dolaze u kafanu da se žale. Šankeri mu dođu kao psihijatri.
A o bakšišu da ne pričam. Jedan lik mi je uvek dolazio sa sitnišem i plaćao u dinar, tamo neki je tražio da mu grejem pivo, alooo, pivooo, treći je pio uvek istu količinu velikog točenog da zaokruži, pa da ne moram da mu vraćam kusur... Ima tu milion priča. Prosto ne znam kako sam ostala normalna. A možda i nisam... 😆

Da listi nema kraja mogla bi imati 100 točaka. I da svi bi trebali gledati Waiting :)

meni je jedan bija pametan pa iša sam pravit rum kolu ... u šejkeru

HAHAH taj mora da je genijalac bio :D Nadam se da se zalio sa rum-kolom

I to napunija punog pa šejka ga, eksplodira mu šejk izletija iz ruku priko cile terase, poplava hahahaha. Al' uzeja ostatak, napunija čašicu i onako stoički između biće 50 ljudi lagano odšeta, a cili zalipljen. Drugi dan ga ja čekam na terasi, di si ekplozija lol

HAHA face tako mu i treba kad se prvio pametan :D7

i to onako polako ide, a feragosta, talijani se paralizirali, nas dvoje mrtvi ozbiljno ka ništa nije, drugi dan priča da nikad nije tako umra od srama :DDDDDD

A eKspresna kafa? Jaooo... Toga je bilo koliko hoćeš! Pa još naglase K. 🤣

da da i kapučino bez pjene :D

Ahahaha... Ta je vrh! Ali realno i mene je najviše nerviralo kada mi kažu pivo ili sok. Ono za sok, 'oćeš crni ili žuti! 😁

There's a quote I live by: If you're good to me and you're not good to a waiter, you're not a good person.
It really resonates with this post. I know not all waiters are good but there are some who really make you come back for a drink next time...

Cool from you to care about a certain group of people and sharing it with us!

That was my idea I wanted to point out the bad in the service industry especially here in Croatia we can see the result no one wants to work anymore in that industry, shortage in the summer month, people moving out the country.

The salary is getting more and more rediculous for waiters, then they are more and more nervous and it all reflects on the job... We're losing people and we are tourism minded country lol
Croatia full of waiters? Instead of life haha

HAHAH @whack.science I think they need to change the slogan in the future :D

Jaooo a kakve scene oko par kuna od onih kad kazu "pa nisam ja covjek koji radi scene ali..." ahhahaha legendaran posao, sa osmjehom sam dobio otkaz

Jaa sam ga dao parputa sa osmjehom :D lipim velikim

Jel to zbog gazde spijuna koji neda disati hahaha

Da da, i toga je bilo, oni su najjaci šefovi UFF! o njima nisma nista htio napisat jer bi onda post postao serija :D

Napravi serijal hahaha ima tu materijala, mozemo dosta nas uskociti na ovu temu da ti olaksamo :)

@positivity420 kao dnevnik konobar na Steemitu :-)

I would like to say that everyone and I mean EVERYONE should at least spend 6 months to 1 year in customer service related jobs to experience how to deal and serve with people. I always say that customer has a right but not always right. Working in services especially bartending or wait staff is a humbling experience and will also test you, make or break you. Those are great points you have there and I and others who have experience in this can relate and hope a lesson to those who have not.

Giving tip is not a practice here in our country. I still give tip to those who deserve it. However, I notice that more and more staff are not as attentive to what the customer needs or is asking for.

@leeart I agree with you everybody should work in the service industry for some time. My idea was to point out that this is not an easy job like most think, it is a very stressful and underpaid job. Thanks for reading.

Indeed. So let all people know that we should be more patient and understanding and respectful to those who serve us.

There is a rule that I once heard: "Always be nice to people who serve you food." I think it goes for drinks too. Those whistles and finger snapping remind me of calling a dog, why do people do that?

As for tipping... I tip if a waiter deserves it and not all waiters do. If you have a smile on your face I will definitely leave a tip, even if you get my order wrong, but if you are acting like you hate me just for being there, be lucky I pay at all :D

Good rule :-D

Bakšiš nije grad u Turskoj :).
I was a part-time waiter and everything you wrote I'll sign here.
And to add: Your screaming baby is annoying to everyone if you can't deal with (make it stop) it please leave.
My boss is the one that set those rules not me, so don't complain to me about that. I can't do anything about that nor will I.

HAHAH i ta isto vridi :D Yes rules are rules :D

The struggles of being a waiter hahha. I've been a waiter for about 3 months and I think that's first and last I've been doing that kind of a job. It can be so hard and stressful sometimes. Još da svi ljudi znaju bit pristojni možda bi čak i bilo lakše :D

It is hard work :-) Uf da su samo samo malo pristojinij bilo bi lakše.

Ima li mente? hahahah

Ko nije proša epizodu u toj "kafani" ne zna šta je pakao :D

@gingergeorge hahah jeste i proširio tržište :D ček pricamo o onoj kafani?

The Kafana :D Nikad više...

One of the noblest occupations, a waiter provides drink to the thirsty, offers a crying shoulder to those in need, cleans up other peoples mess, and can direct you to the toilet when you re wasted. Truly a noble profession. Deserves respect.

I agree with you just some regared for the workers goes a long way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60