An Open Letter to Whales...

in #whalepower7 years ago (edited)

To the top 200 + whales who have survived off steemit since before the last hard fork happened.

IMG_3137.JPG

Thanks for your non-support!

As a Little Fish who has worked my butt off to get my little bit of steem and a reputation of 57 I can honestly say that you are all a bunch of greedy oversized belugas who are not good for much except burning the midnight oil!

IMG_3133.JPG

My first appearance here was in May of this year. While I have remained hopeful, pouring myself into posts and commenting out the ass! Speaking of commenting, not being able to UPVOTE posts keeps the rewards pool just big enough to breathe.

Researching SMTs, traveling, photographing and interviewing, it remains completely obvious only a handful of my friends here in the homesteaders group cares one IOTA about what goes on in our little pond.

IMG_3134.JPG

At Chinese restaurants it is not unusual to walk into the vestibule and see a man-made pond filled with carp. We are good for entertainment and keeping the new bloggers coming in. Careful though don't touch the carp! They are not real food just pretend. Look how pretty that one is or how that one swims right up to you like it is trying to say something.

IMG_3135.JPG

It comes as no surprise that while we swim around in circles with our friends, you WHALES are running up the price of bitcoin and cashing out as fast as you can before the bottom falls out of steemit. After all isn't that what you have all been about from the beginning?

Forgive me! Stupid little redfish-minnow-carp that I am, this is supposedly a new kind of blogging platform built upon the blockchain where transparency and freedom no matter who you are is the message preached. It should have been a dead give away as soon as I could reference myself on google.

IMG_3136.JPG

I cannot understand the mantra "where your voice counts" it seems to only apply to the big fish. What does it mean to have so much yet not share with anyone? I can count the number of times a WHALE has upvoted one of my posts. When was the last time some of you actually wrote something with heart rather than resteem something someone else wrote? Too busy or just too lazy to actually write your own content!

So swim away you blubbering fat heads, talk amongst yourselves on discord ! You certainly don't talk to us small fry. Create more ideas about getting rich. Tokens, radio shows, fight matches, games, and bots. Lots of damnable bots. Then sit back and enjoy the little fishy as they swim around in circles!

This platform has so much potential if only....(fill in the blank)

Have at it, flag me I don't really care. Drive my rep into the dirt.

Show everybody how freedom of speech and transparency really works here.

Sort:  

Preach it, sister!

And, yes, that's how it's been for the entire YEAR I've been here. I doubt if it will ever change.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on steemit. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

I do not like the bots. I am still learning here as a small fish. You once gave me inspiration to keep going. I hope you hang in there with me

You know I will! 🐓🐓

Great I for one would miss you and your interesting views.

It can be frustrating to use Steemit and barely get any upvote! I've received upvotes from whales by using Steemfollower. My son is also on Steemit and he's the one who has helped me with ways to get more upvotes and also with have more steam power! Good luck here on Steemit, I think you always have great posts! It would be awesome if the whales would look around and see who is making great posts!

Thank you for that bit of encouragement. I appreciate it more than you know! 🐓🐓

You just have to keep posting and making friends that will consistently upvote you. I got lucky with some big votes in the beginning, but theres some weeks my posts don't go over a dollar. Just stick with it because if you don't post you definitely won't make anything. Hanging out in some of the chats will help too. I'd rather make $0.10 here than 1000 likes on facebook any day.

So true! Me too. Thanks. 🐓🐓

Hey, my friend, it looks like I can finally comment and reply again! Yesterday was so frustrating. I tried four times to reply to one of your posts but was defeated by a half hour of watching the whirly circle thing each time. When I read this yesterday I could feel your righteous indignation boiling over. Your post reminds me of Peter Finch's character's righteous rant on Network - I'm mad as hell and I'm not going to take it any more!

Reading some of the background posts it seems like the problem was (is?) ongoing DDoS attacks and the devs doing workarounds to protect it, but that shouldn't prevent the company from communicating with us.

Love you, @mother2chicks 😘😘

Good morning Kiligirl. One of those weeks that has me in rest mode today. Sorry I didn't respond earlier.
I read a couple of articles that did respond to our cries. No DDOS attack in play. Saw an article about whales running up the price of bitcoinI wish there were more articles about people helping other people like there were several months ago. Donating to a good cause. Hurricane reparations, people that need help.
Most of what is being projected is just about winning.
Encouragement comes by the fact that the devs have implemented an extra layer of protection against DDOS attacks in the future. Things do eek out in bits of information tho not necessarily from the people expected.

There were a lot of people that didn't verbalized their frustration, that were to the point of giving up posting. That was the pressure point.
You have a much more diplomatic approach to your frustrations, i.e. busy.org. Perhaps more patience too. No time to learn a new skill set. My ability to maneuver Steemit has surprised even me. Thus a big blast of I am angry and I am not going to take it anymore.

The problems are fixed for now. Once I say my piece it is done. So appreciate you standing by me. Love your friend Ellie Mae 🐓🐓

Hey, it's been a rough two weeks! I loved your blast and have been so interested to watch people's reactions (although it's been devilishly difficult to comment on them!!). The whales have indeed been making a killing. Meanwhile i can't even get into Bittrex and Support is useless and unresponsive. You might see me getting a little less diplomatic. By the way, one of the main reasons I might have looked diplomatic was that it was SO FRIKKEN' HARD TO POST ANYTHING!!! Ah, that feels better.

We've had a surprisingly sociable weekend getting together with work friends from the place I left in May on Friday evening, then an unexpected birthday lunch with Tim's sister-in-law yesterday and her family (including the always amazing @lynb), then dinner with one of Tim's high school friends. We last saw him in January just before his wife died. Tim made an amazing Tim curry, always a treat. We are totally wiped today! I've got looks of catching up to do with comments but am so sleepy that might have to wait until tomorrow.

Hope you enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

Much love 😘😘

good post, I am new to steemit and I am learning to use these tools, very good.

I can sense that the anger against the platform is growing. For good reasons too. All you said true. Look at dollarvigilante. He comes in and starts making 300-400 bucks a post when far superior posts go unnoticed. It is a Ponzi scheme where whales will only vote foe each other and pass the money around within a limited group. But that is done on the back of this platform which is composed mainly of you and I and the likes. I can’t imagine this changing as evil has its roots too deep here.

@mother2chicks Thats the true freedom!

Thank you my friend. Your support is appreciated! 🐓🐓

My pleasure

I can sense that the anger against the platform is growing. For good reasons too. All you said true. Look at dollarvigilante. He comes in and starts making 300-400 bucks a post when far superior posts go unnoticed. It is a Ponzi scheme where whales will only vote foe each other and pass the money around within a limited group. But that is done on the back of this platform which is composed mainly of you and I and the likes. I can’t imagine this changing as evil has its roots too deep here.

Thanks for your comments. They just need to fix it pronto!🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36