Whaleometer is at 40%

in #whaleometer7 years ago (edited)

So, a lot of people seem to think that I'm a whale. That's a misconception. I'm a Dolphin. I'm not even a particularly large dolphin. That's because ball size is typically measured by SP.

A couple ways to look at this account

If you go by the standard-

Redfish 0-1000 SP
Minnow = 0-5000SP
Dolphin = 5000-50000SP
Whale= 50,000SP+

I'm a dolphin. I'm not even that large of a dolphin because I'm not that huge. According to Steemwhales I'm not even in the top 500 accounts on Steemit.

What's another way to look?

I like follower count generally. I'm floating around top 60 most followed accounts. If you exclude all the people that just followed 40,000 people and now have 4000+ followers then I'm in the top 40 most followed accounts. Actually I think I might be personally responsible along with @jerrybanfield for the rise of those folks. I wrote an article about the ways you get on the top 25 most followed list and mentioned spam f4f as an approach. Now's there's 20 of them near the top of the list. I also think Jerry has been actively encouraging the behavior. Oh well. Sorry guys. For the record it is a pretty shitty way to get up on the top of the list. You'll notice many of those accounts have thousands of followers and still accounts only worth $30. It's probably not worth your time.

Anyway, all of that is to stay now that I'm rockin' close to 4,000 followers I'm in the top most followed.

The Best handle for figuring out long term success

I don't know any place that tracks this conveniently right now, but my favorite measurement of success is looking at the combined SP of all the people that follow you. That gives you a sense of the long term trend you're likely up on. So, yeah, having 4,000 brnad new minnows is neat and all, but I'd rather have 1 whale droppin' votes on my posts from a strict financial gain perspective. It's the same with tracking this. What you want to know is how big are the collective balls of all the people that read your posts.

It's easy to do that in Discord rooms that use Banjo. Just type $follows Steemitname and watch what it spits out. The higher your value is the better off your long term success on the platform is looking.

Anyway, I'm not a whale... yet

People seem to think I'm a whale. I'm not. I make decent money but I have a house, wife, and 2 kids. So I basically have no spending cash for say 15 more years or more. So, I can't just come in here and buy a shit ton of steem. So, I have to do it modern way, which is posting for it. I have around 20k steem. I have purchased $2500 of steem, but the vast majority has come from author rewards. Yes I have a big following. Yes I helped create a minnow group and get some publicity for that. Yes I am a witness. Despite all of that. I'm not rich. I'm just a dude. Just a medium sized dolphin. I still got 30k Steem Power to earn before I'm there. It's gonna be a bit before I get my Whale Ball upgrades.

So, lots of people make this mistake when reaching out in Discord or Steemit chat. I just wanted to clear it up.

Witness Side Note

I'll probably do a full post on this laterz, but I'm rocking 19.1 now. Hopefully you stop seeing the broadcast error. I got it once myself. For the record @netuoso broke steemit. For the record we didn't give him the Minnow Support Project Medal of Honor for that specific activity! Fortunately, the devs and some really smart users fixed it in pretty close to record time, and now many of the witnesses are rockin' the fix. This place is stronger for having gone through that process.

Good Times.

Sort:  

Feeding the shark now.

EEEK a shark!

New Followers get 0.001 SBD$ and an upvote for free!!

Just follow @steemvote and...

  • we follow back
  • send you 0.001 SBD to your wallet
  • upvote your newest posting

Thanks for brining this up, I always wanted to know what qualifies a person to be a dolohin... I guess I'll be the smallest dolphin of them all in a few days 😂🐳

Yeah man! Doooo it!!! d'ya think "Flipper" was the biggest Dolphin out there? lol And look what "Flipper" accomplished :)

@stackin, I'm a bit surprised that you didn't know what qualifies a person to be a dolphin. If I remember well, you commented on my post -300 SP more to become a dolphin. Anyway, I'm preparing my dancing shoes to come for your dolphin party in a few days. The indices are very clear from what I see in your wallet that you are just one step away . I'm yet to organize a party, though. Cheers.

Yeah, had no idea... lots where saying 30k SP minimum 😂🐳... I need to be stackin some more 😎

Oh my goodness! Can you imagine that they were lying to you? Yes, I think you should be stacking some more like I'm doing. Sometimes, I just add as little as 5/10 SP. They all add up. Act true to your steemit name, @stackin to stack more and more steem. Lol!

I really like the cumulative Steem Power of your followers metric. Would love to see that added to steemd.com

Thank you for posting this. As a Redfish just starting out it's nice to see what's possible if I stick with it. I had thought about doing the f4f but felt in the end what's the point if they aren't quality followers. Good luck in the next year getting to your whale status.

Look at you catching a sneaky @jesta upvote through your comment on muh wall!

Like a rare pokemans

"I'm not a whale... yet"

This reminds me of the post I made of Bitman.

dieminnow.png

but not factual.

Whales are just fat dolphins anyway :-) Nice job on the witness climb, I remember waaaaaay back (like a few days ago) you 50+. I'm happy for you, keep up the good work.

ps: Way to go @netuoso :-/ LOL

Like rhinos are fat unicorns!

LOL Exactly! We're on the same page.

huzzah for github resolution and SF19.1..way to go @netuoso pushing the buttons

It's probably not worth your time.

and a sump for the resources of the platform...spinning the hamster wheel takes electricity.

please, folks, listen to @aggroed

no more f4f spam

I do not have the patience for the f4f spam approach. Following people just so they would follow me clogged my feed with all sorts of non-sense I really was not interested in. Trimmed my following list to just the folks I like and respect on Steemit, and it was like a breath of fresh air. Now I prefer the old fashioned way of growing by interacting with people and trying to turn out quality content. Works a lot better I believe!

Exactly, the people that like what you say will upvote you, the people racing from spam comment to spam post and back aren't going to read or vote your comments anyway!

Gave you my tiny minnow vote, enjoy the .00001 payout lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43