Whalecraft - What In The Hell Am I Doing?

in #whalecraft5 years ago

About 2 weeks ago, the lovely @mandelsage talked me into getting Minecraft installed and joining the Whalecraft server.

I did.

Since that first day that he showed me around, I have gone adventuring and kind of laid claim to an island just off the mainland. I wish I had been taking more screenshots of my first "house" on the island. It was the standard cave house that most newbs build. I quickly realized that I wanted something more grand. How about my own castle?!

Well, to build something that large of scale, it takes quite a bit of resources... and time. Well, time is not something I have a ton of, so I had to figure out a way to gather resources without a ton of time investment.

Off to YouTube I went and I was surprised to find all sorts of tutorials on automatic and semi-automatic farms.

NOW I've taken some screenshots and can share them here.


Most of the time, I don't want to head into the mines due to time constraints and safety, but I need plenty of cobblestone to turn into bricks. The first solution is the machine above. It's an infinite cobblestone maker. I can stand in one spot, hold my mouse button and mine as much cobblestone as I can hold. It works on a piston system with an area for water and lava storage so there literally is an endless supply of cobblestone.


I didn't want to go with wood for my roof due to innefeciency and time, so I have decided to go with wool blocks instead. But wool is not easy to come by in bulk either. The solution to that? A sheep mover!

The sheep move in a clockwise circle around the track, I stand in one place, set the key-bind to AFK and sheer away! When I come back. I have many much wool! BOOM.


So I'm only partially through my castle build. This WILL take a while to complete, but I'm having some fun while it goes.

The inside is still basic and has quite a bit of work to be done.

After I have the basic wire-frame of the castle built, I'm going to start looking into making an automatic item sorter as I can see how unorganized my chests are becoming. lots of time wasted on looking for that right piece of the puzzle to complete the parts I need.


I'm actually pretty shocked how in depth the mechanics of Minecraft is. I was one of the many that figured that this was a kids game, but wow. So much you can do with the items you find. More problem solving goes into this than I could have imagined.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73