You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Plain Jane McClain" - We-Write #14: At the Club

in #wewrite5 years ago

OK who else could put corny AND tragic in the same short story and make it work?
I'd forgotten about Susan. It's cool to know this about her. I wish them many happy decades together.

They are the same story, but one has far fewer words! You seemed to make the changes lickety split - was it hard to choose what to cut? No need to describe Susan with more than some women looked fine without a spot of makeup. but you did remove a lot of info about the shooter which is a whole other aspect of the story.

I kind of keep culling as I go along. For example, I get to 290 words but know I am not more than half way done so I take a good 60 of those out then start writing again. Then I get a new idea and toss a whole lot out.

Thank you so much for writing with us!!!!

Sort:  

Thanks so much for inspiring me to try this we-write!
You're wise to keep the word count in mind as you write. I just write-write-write. I've got to think like a poet and cull those details, like you do.
I was picturing a Scarlett Johanson, and my nephew's bride, who didn't do much make-up even on her wedding day, and she still looked awesome to me.
But readers can picture whoever they wish!
No need for me to spell out every little thing.
Thanks again!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32