Death and Fame: A We Write contest entrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #wewrite6 years ago

octopus-489868_640.jpg
Source

Here's another We Write entry. @iamjadeline wrote the beginning and I wrote the ending.

The beginning:

"Oh, come on, are you kidding me?" she asked with panic tone.

"Nope, I am not. I am freaking serious about it," he replied with a grin.

"Yeah but not on our anniversary date, please," lamented Guthrie.

"But this will make the video even more interesting. I might get hundred percent upvote from dtube and wow... I will go cruising with you."

"I don't fancy cruise. Just don't eat it, or at least don't eat it alive."

"The challenge is we must eat it alive."

"But of all things, octopus?" she rolled her eyes.

"Oh yeah, that's why it is a challenge. Haha. It will be its death on the table, you will have fun recording me eating it. Aha!" he exclaimed with excitement.

"Here it comes..." The waiter served the plate of live octopus.

"Ready to press play... For the death on the table! Ho ho ho!" he laughed boisterously.

Asgarth was trying to chew the octopus while Guthrie recorded him with half eyes closed, reluctant to view the disgusting process. She could tell it was not a pleasant experience but Asgarth loved anything challenging.

. . . . .

"Arghkk! Arghkk!"
"Erk! Erk!"
"Elp! H...elp!"

Guthrie dropped the phone on the table as Asgarth waving frantically with his eyeballs wide opened.

He got choked!

Waiters came to the rescue to pull out the octopus from his throat.
Apparently, the octopus was trying to save itself and had used its siphon on its tentacles to prevent being swallowed.

It was almost his death on the table.

The Ending

"And in our 'What were they thinking' section of tonight's news is a story about a new internet challenge gone very wrong," said the slightly amused news anchorman.

"YouTubers and Dtubers have been flocking to sushi restaurants to take video of themselves eating live Octopus..."

Guthrie grumbled and reached for the remote. But Asgarth grabbed her hand and held onto it instead.

"Wait, I want to see if it's me they show."

His eyes were glued to the screen while she looked anywhere else.

"Yes!" he said as he jumped up, hands high in the the air.

"You're seriously proud to be in the 'What were they thinking news'"?

"Don't you get it? We'll hit over a million views for sure!"

"You almost died!"

"Yeah, but I didn't and now I'll be even more famous. Think of what that can mean..." he said, his eyes drifting from her to the imagined future.

Crossing her arms she said, "Oh, I certainly am thinking about what that means...for me."


Will their relationship last? Will the next challenge kill him? Will she leave before it's too late? Tune in next time...whenever that is.

Thanks to @iamjadeline for an awesome opening to the story!

enter image description here

Need help editing and formatting your blogs? Check out my editing services.

enter image description here

enter image description here


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Pay it forward contest

Support the Steem community by participating in the Pay it Forward Contest!


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, Pay it Forward and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  

Beautifully Done writer. Enjoyed it.
Scary also though, very plausible.

Very realistic considering the stupid challenges these days. Even the ones for charity. Who thought pouring ice and water on your head is a good thing? It's COLD and ice is hard. Might as well pour rocks on your head.

I hope Guthrie leaves and finds someone less immature.

Thank you for the compliment.

Recently I saw a fool buying a "mystery pack" from the dark-web for $300 and opening it on youtube.. a pack came from Russia with something like - in between the variety of strange items - an lsd pill and some sort of smelly mud in an envelope..raw heroine? (Yah, I know, the sh*t I watch on youtube lol)

Maybe next time Asgarth (there's a heavy metal group called like that) will try an octopus in a more exotic orifice, who knows?!
Well done @ntowl and @iamjadeline.. an enjoyable piece that makes reflect about nowadays idiocies and compulsions of appearing at any cost.

Thanks @f3nix. I always appreciate your comments, though the image brought to mind in this one is something that I can never unsee. 😱

What shall I do, my friend? if you talk about tentacles you tickle my Cthulhian imaginery 😁🐙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26