Death's on the Table (a "We Write" with @ntowl!)

in #wewrite6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

What to do with a pig's head from Dad the butcher? He should know! :)
Head cheese is not a dairy cheese, but a terrine or meat jelly made with flesh from the head of a calf or pig, or less commonly a sheep or cow, and often set in aspic. If you think canned Spam is disgusting, this looks even worse.

Oh, so that's what you do with a pig's head! Haha!

I live in a heavy pig area. My town holds fame for having the largest pork abattoir in the southern hemisphere... and I see pigs heads alllll the time at the markets. I couldn't help but wonder if people actually bought the things and what they would actually do with them.

Now I know! :D

The Corowa Piggery is the largest in the southern hemisphere, with 45,000 sows (as of 2010). The slaughterhouse/abattoir on the same property is the largest pig abattoir in Australia, with a capacity of up to 1 million kills per year. Well, now I know something new!
My grandma never made head cheese, or it surely would have been fed to me. She did make rinderwurst, which traditionally includes beef tongue and heart,and chuck roast, put through a meat grinder with pepper, onion, and oatmeal, to spread like a meat paste
on pancakes.

Oh, I actually didn't know about that one. Mine is located in a place called Kingaroy - after investigating, it's the largest pork processing plant in the southern hemisphere, not abattoir. Woops. (I blame this article for setting me astray)

Rinderwurst sounds pretty good actually. I'm not sure I can imagine it on pancakes, but, mmm!

Hi @kaelci!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.121 which ranks you at #22278 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 57 places in the last three days (old rank 22221).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 388 contributions, your post is ranked at #266.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22