Sort:  

It was my happy place to be. I got to take some incredible paddling trips over the years and it was a sad day when I had to sell my boats. I still have one hanging in the rafters of the garage that I keep thinking someday when my grandkids get old enough they would want to use it. But right now it's just gathering dust.

Aw. That's a shame @melinda010100. We have three boats hanging in our garage and one out in the yard.

John is a keen kayaker. 😁

Oh, we would get along well! One of my earliest kayaking buddies moved up north on to the shores of Lake Superior and started a guide business almost 30 years ago. I would often get phone calls from him saying hey I don't have any trips booked for next week do you want to go... and he and I would take off and go and explore and camp and just have the greatest Adventures! He was down last winter and spent a few days here with me and we were reminiscing about the time we used our paddles and tied a tarp between them and sailed across one of the big bays in Lake Superior. oh my goodness we were flying! So many good memories. And that lighthouse in my photo? There is a big dock out front that stands quite high above the water and we got into our boats and launched our fully loaded kayaks off the end of the dock and landed in the water with a splat! That caught a lot of attention too! Fun stuff!

Oh my. You are right. You and John would get on like a house on fire.

He still does a 10 day trip in the Scottish Islands every year with one of his friends.

At home it's mostly kayak surfing as the sea paddling is a bit tame. Although he does paddle along the coast from time to time.

I bought him a kayak sail a couple of Christmases ago but, sadly, he wasn't able to use it on his trip this year. It was either way too windy or none at all apparently.

Like you they just take off and camp on the beaches or stay in local bothies, which I wrote about some time ago.

You must really miss it but it's good that you took the chance when you had it. 😢

I would love to hear John's tales! My kayaking friends have offered to take me out in a tandem, but I have refused. It would defeat the fealing of independence that I loved about kayaking. I don't have any feeling in my left hand and I even experimented with strapping it to the paddle to see if I could do it all with my right hand but I ended up going in circles and I decided that wasn't the answer! So it's okay just to have all the great memories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51