Westworld Season 2 Episode 4 Theories: The Best Thing Since Lost Revealed the Hatch

in #westworld6 years ago

TopWestworldTheories2.jpg

Wow. The opening of tonight's new Westworld (Season 2 Episode 4) reminded me SO much of that episode of Lost that opened to Desmond in the hatch. Completely mind-boggling, and absolutely amazing.

This post has spoilers for The Riddle of the Sphinx.

I love this show. And if you want to dig really deep into my theories about the latest episode, please read my 1000+ word story on Heavy right here.. But here are a few things just to get you started.

They failed at turning people into hosts. James Delos' glitches could never be fixed.

But his glitches might not be limited to human minds. This might be the beginning of where it doesn't look like anything to me originated as a failsafe.

There are multiple contenders in Ford's game. I'm guessing they are:

  • William (of course)
  • Maeve
  • Bernard
  • Dolores
  • Maybe William's daughter (did anyone figure out who she was before it was revealed tonight?)

I'm more confused than ever about what file Peter is carrying, because now we're also wondering whose control unit Bernard created and then ran off with. (Which, by the way, might mean that my assumption at the beginning of this story that they CAN'T transfer human minds into hosts might be wrong. Maybe William couldn't figure it out, but Ford did.)

OK, here are some guesses. Peter Abernathy's file could contain:

  • Someone's consciousnesses (James Delos, Ford, or Arnold)
  • DNA and experiences of all the human visitors for 30+ years. Maybe blackmail material?
  • Arnold's bicameral mind sentient program

My guess, however, is that Peter's file is likely someone's consciousness, because it was written in the same code that those red brains were written in. And we know what they were hiding! Bernard likely also stole someone's consciousness, either Ford's or Arnold's.

Meanwhile, did you notice that Bernard, at least in certain situations, can control hosts just like Maeve and Ford can? This is making me think more and more that everything they're doing is a narrative that's part of Ford's game for William (and others.) BUT I don't like the idea of Maeve's actions all being predetermined. I prefer to think of her as one of the players the game was written for.

I'm seriously all over the map on this one, but that's because I'm so excited about this episode. What do you think?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53