YUMMY Gluten Free/Sugar Free Apple Pie Recipe :)

in #wellness6 years ago

christmas-desserts-01.jpg

Let's be honest, there is no such thing as a completely healthy apple pie, but this is the closest recipe I have found to it! I am gluten free and live primarily sugar free as well. I make this pie for special occasions and no one seems to know the difference! If you don't feel comfortable making a sugar free, gluten free crust you can look for someone in your town (maybe at a local farmers market) who specializes in making gluten free/sugar free baked goods. If you are an excellent baker, I have attached a great recipe for the crust. If you don't mind the added sugar, you can always purchase a gluten free crust from your nearest grocer.

Keep in mind that there is still a great deal of sugar in this pie with the crust (carbs) and the apple juice (juice sugar). Please eat in moderation if you are watching your intake of anti-inflammatory ingredients.

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 12 ounces unsweetened apple juice concentrate - Fresh pressed apple juice can be used for a less sweet pie with less calories. Use a sweet apple such as Gala, Pink, Granny Smith, or use a combination of the three.
  • 6 cups thinly sliced apples: Gala, Pink, Granny Smith, or use a combination of the three.
  • 1 pastry for a 9-inch double crust pie (ideally gluten free, sugar free crust – See recipe below)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  • Whisk together the cornstarch, cinnamon and 1/4 of the apple juice.
  • In a saucepan over medium heat, simmer the apples in the remaining apple juice until tender. Add the cornstarch mixture and stir until thickened. This will happen QUICKLY so be prepared!
  • Pour into bottom crust and cover with top crust. Bake for 45 minutes.

Ingredients for Pie Crust

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups shortening
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar
  • 4 tablespoons water

Directions for Pie Crust (Find a crust at the store or order one from a local pastry cook)

  • In large bowl mix flour (gluten flour can be used – See directions for conversion) and salt.
  • Cut in shortening with two butter knifes.
  • In separate bowl, mix together egg, vinegar, and water. Drizzle wet mixture into dry mixture, cutting it in.
  • Roll out dough, and fit into two 9-inch pie pans.
  • Bake at 425 degrees F (220 degrees C) for 12 minutes.

If you are feeling a little adventurous, you could always get some whipping cream and sprinkle in a little cinnamon and vanilla extract for a cool and smooth topping for your pie!

8 Servings - 309 Calories per/slice

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Yummy...I can taste it now. Gonna try it. My last pie I left the apples cooking a little to long...had apply sauce pie.

Thank You So Much For Sharing This ,
Greatly Appreciated :)

Absolutely! Thank you for reading! Enjoy!

My mouth is filled with water after watching it 😐 just wanna eat it ❣

nice photos greetings and invite you to my profile :) @synekto

good innovation especially for diabetic

I like your recipe and going to resteem it.

Upvoted and promoted. I think more people would love a gluten-free apple pie if they knew how to make one. I would like to try it my self.

Thank you for reading and upvoting! Get out the pots and pans! It's REALLY worth it. I promise. I make one for myself every Christmas and Thanksgiving, as a little gift to myself.

wow...just took the word outta my mouth

The recipe sounds very good, I try it. Thank you👌 :)

Thank you for this recipe!
So far I have never seen one gluten free...
I'll be sure to try this one next time !

You will love it!! Enjoy!

I love it and will be making this sometime. As I love cooked apples as they are, I never add sugar to them, but as you stated, I use different apples for more sweetness of less.
I also make apple pies similar to this recipe but without the juice. I use either plain water or coconut water instead. Although I've never tried to make gluten free pastry, so thank you @thouser for the recipe. I will enjoy giving it a go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45