The Science on Weight Loss for Diabetics and How a Wellness Coach Can Help

in #wellness6 years ago (edited)

overweight-woman-measuring-waist.jpg

I was sitting in my office on a sunny winter day when an agent of mine came through the door and sat down hard on the seat in front of me. I looked at him very carefully, I knew something was really wrong and that he wasn't feeling well. He was a heavier man, in his thirties, usually very talkative, upbeat, happy and smiling. Today, he was different. Today, his skin was gray, he wasn't smiling and he looked a little like he was knocking at death's door. We were ten minutes from going into a weekly meeting, but instead, I told him to get out of my office and go directly to the hospital. He, very reluctantly, went. Upon his return, the next day, he announced that his sugar levels were very high and he was handed the diabetic diagnosis. My heart sank, but I was so thankful that I sent him to the hospital when I did.

Today, there are over 29.1 million Americans living with diabetes according to The American Diabetes Association. They go on to state that diabetes is the seventh leading cause of death for people in the United States. Diseases such as: hypertension, cardiovascular disease, kidney disease, strokes and heart attacks are all side effects of diabetes. What else do these diseases have in common? In a lot of cases, obesity.

Obesity and diabetes can be very dangerous. If you are taking insulin, or oral medications, your doctor certainly has instructed you on your diet, and what you should be doing in regards to your fitness. Now, let's take a poll, how many of you exercise and watch your weight the way you should?

If you were too embarrassed to raise your hand, that's okay. I have good news! The science is out and it's proven that health and wellness coaching can and does help overweight and obese diabetics lose weight and keep it off long term. A joint publication released on January 26th, 2017, entitled: The impact of telephonic wellness coaching on weight loss: A "Natural Experiments for Translation in Diabetes (NEXT-D)" study.

This study supports the idea that even telephonic coaching, for weight loss for patients with diabetes, had positive long term outcomes. The conclusion of the study suggest, "Telephonic wellness coaching programs implemented within health care delivery systems may help to provide effective weight loss support to the broader population and reduce the rates of chronic disease and health complications related to excess weight gain."

This is great news, for those who may consider help with controlling their weight, but would prefer an online or telephonic coach to help them with their weight loss goals. Now, you can get help in the privacy of your own home when it's most convenient for you and feel confident that your long term goals regarding your weight and your health will and can be met.

READ FULL STUDY HERE

Take time today to assess where you are in your weight loss goals. If you are also dealing with diabetes, having a normal weight is so valuable. If you struggle, consider a wellness coach, consider making an appointment with me today and let me help you back to healthy.

For an appointment go to: www.currentcure.com

Tina

Picture Reference: www.currentcure.com

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing .

Thanks for reading!

thank you information. my friend is very fat, but to lower her diet, not exercise. I share articles with my friends.

I think I'm fat. Others say I'm a beast. I want to be smaller and just as strong.

@hendry-gant , and I'm skinny. others say i don't eat, but everyday I eat rice :-)

I like rice.
When I'm home I make rice and freeze them in little paddies to be thawed out in the microwave.

I visualize my weight, I see the numbers on my scale in my mind. And hear myself say, "I feel Great!" whenever I see the imagery.

Yes!! This is a great way to become and be the weight you want :)

Henry.. thank you for reading my blogs. I feel like you are my biggest fan and I am grateful for you :) Thank you.

Something wonderful this way comes.

I know you are right, my friend. I know you are right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50