Sort:  

Well, that is a good question. As the other pieces, this is more of a throwback to childhood, and as children we do not have developed a lot of rational thinking. I don't believe in hiding one's own talents. There is a lot to do with what society values, and it is the wrong of parents, teachers and the rest of society if they value doing well in exams too much.

Having said that, as children we do like to boast about our achievements, and I am still someone who likes to gloat, at times. In a way, it can be a little insensitive. Of course, it never came from a place of malice or bad intentions, and there are a lot of emotions that are not rational. I should not made to feel bad for being overachieving. Yet, I know that it has its effects on people.

At times, as children, we are ignored, as I wrote in previous poems. I know, if adults value academic achievement, I will show off when I do get it. Maybe a little too much, but that way, I gain the 'respect' and attention of adults. While doing that, it leaves siblings, relatives or friends who do not have those achievements to be left out in the dark, excluded, or feel bad about themselves. Obviously, it was not my intention, and maybe I should not be even apologising. But, this is about what I felt and thought as a child, so even if the emotions are unwarranted, I will express them.

Nods. dealing with people sucks most people are intimidated by me and feel threatened but at this point of my life I refuse to dumb myself down to make them feel better. I am done apologizing for just being myself ... I do be more reclusive nowadays though as I am tired of the endless drama ...

Nowadays, I see myself as an inspirational story. Maybe I didn't have the toughest childhood, but I did come out of a pretty bad depression and am doing whatever I want. I take no excuses, if you dream it, make it happen, or else be happy with what you have. No more apologies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43