Start Here

in #welcome7 years ago

"What Do You Want?"

I can remember that her tone sounded sincere, for the first time that night, it seemed. She was asking me what I wanted from her, specifically, but something in my brain had shortcircuited, and it was too late. I was staring blankly over her shoulder, contemplating my plan for the next 80 years. It was the first time in a long time that someone has asked me such a deep question.

Years after a rough breakup with the girl next door, I gave up the pursuit of a life partner in exchange for as much physical intimacy and casual dating as time would allow.  I love strong women, the kind that stir your soul and make you forget about the daily grind. In Boston, there are plenty: Students, entrepreneurs, athletes, doctors, lawyers. I don't know what caused the repression of the feminine in the last century, maybe you all could enlighten me. What I do know is that inequality is futile, and perhaps the next few years will bring the revelation world-wide. The feminine is a divine force, and only cooperation between the sexes will unleash our species full potential. Only a strong woman has allowed me to be fully vulnerable and exposed. 


"I Just Want To Be Happy..."

The words fell out of my mouth softly, and something about my tone must have revealed my emptiness. She lost interest in my attention, and our conversation ended shortly after. I gave her a warm goodbye, walked her out of my apartment, rolled myself a fat joint, and thought more about her question.


I want to wake up softly, with no alarm. I want time to myself to get ready for the day. I want to spend several hours working hard on something that gives back to society. I want to come home and eat a delicious meal with people I love. 


This formula took me too long to discover. The rest of my life will be spent in pursuit of making this dream a daily reality. 

Let me know in the comments what you want, and your formula for how to make it happen.


Thank you and have a great day,

JG 



Sort:  

Congratulations @justingainer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51