We're new to SteemIt!

in #welcome7 years ago

We're a homesteading family living in rural Wisconsin. Our name -- Britches and Brambles -- came about because we were raising a family of little children (our "britches") on a homestead that was covered by all sorts of wild berry bushes (the "brambles").

We've since moved from that property, though we still own it and live just 20 miles away. We're building up our new place, starting from scratch. We hope to share our projects along the way so that we can gain input and perhaps inspire a few folks.

I'm the wife and the primary writer. My husband works long hours away from the homestead. We have six children. Our eldest is married and has two children; they live on the property with us. The other five are homeschooled and at the time of this post, one is about to graduate.

In the past, we've raised dairy goats, chickens, and ducks. We reduced our animals in anticipation of moving because there was no infrastructure at the new place. This Spring (2018) I'm certain the chickens will return. I hope to have dairy goats again by 2019.

We look forward to being part of the SteemIt community!

Sort:  

Welcome! I'm not a homesteader because of disabilities, but I gleaned a lifetime of information and experience taught to be by living on my grandparents farm and having a large portion of my family being Cherokee. Now, I am writing about all I've learned over the years to earn at least part of the income to support myself.

I look forward to learning even more as I follow your tales and when the time comes, tails, lol.

Thank you for the warm welcome! It sounds like you have a fabulous heritage to draw from. I'm learning new limitations due to fibromyalgia, so we'll see how much I accomplish and how much help I need. It's thrown quite a wrench in my lifestyle.

Oh my, I can imagine it has. I think you will be surprised what you can do. They told me I would never walk again, but I do. They told me I could never have children, but my son will soon be 38. I thought I would never write again, or make graphics because of my vision problems, but I have taught myself to understand what colors I see, compared to the colors everyone else sees. I guess I am trying to say that every time something pops up in front of you that appears you can't do it, just don't give up until you figure out a way to do it. Don't worry if its not pretty or perfect. As long as it gets the job done, don't worry about what someone else thinks of it and you will be surprised what you can do.

You're an amazing inspiration to me!

Welcome to steemit!
I am a moderator for a homesteading and gardening group on Discord. If you're ever interested in joining our homesteading community here on steemit, we'd love to have you. Just let me know and I can post the invite here.

We have gardeners, homesteaders, people who live off-grid. we have it all!

Yes, please invite me to the steemit homesteading community. I have a discord account, as well, and would be glad to join you there.

I love that you have all of your children and grandbabies with you :) sounds so wonderful. Homeschooling and homesteading ❤ beautiful

Thank you for the welcome!

I'm a WI homesteader too! Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you! Happy to find another Wisconsinite to follow.

Welcome to Steemit! We looked at some land up in Wisconsin before deciding on land down here in Missouri - too much snow up there (at least where we were looking)! We just moved here in June, so we know that waiting-to-move feeling all too well! Looking forward to hearing your updates!

I've lived in Wisconsin since 1982, and in Ohio prior to that. I couldn't handle the heat and humidity any further south. I do my part in trying to convince folks to move here, but I consider MO to be a good "second best". :D

Hey @britchesbrambles! Welcome to Steemit. It is an amazing community and full of caring people and creative ideas. We currently homestead in southern Missouri, and are planning to homestead northern Wisconsin in the spring/summer of 2018!

How exciting! Have you already chosen your land? Are you prepared for our winters? I look forward to following your story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63