What would make WEKU truly challenge STEEM?

in #weku5 years ago (edited)

Competition is good. Competition is healthy. STEEM has a 2 year advantage over WEKU, so there's not much of a fight at this point. We have crossed the initial stage of development on WEKU and I am struggling to see the differences between the two.

dAPPS

STEEM has a major advantage in terms of dAPPS developed specifically for the blockchain. Until dAPPS are developed on WEKU; there is no chance at being a true competitor.

Part of the dAPPS is video web-hosting. I am sure this is on the chopping block for WEKU. dLive is the only workable video app integrated for STEEM; and it's piss poor. It requires significant boost to bandwidth to make it faster. I am sure this is expensive, slow, and not worth it in some cases (to upload).

  • WEKU needs a faster video service in order to usurp STEEM

  • GAMES such as STEEM-MONSTERS helped to boost some initial excitement. After buying a few packs I played for a bit. It's gotten a little stale and boring for me; but it is/was a great initiative. I'm not interested in buying more packs. Perhaps I am just not into the quick game type without what seems any kind of reward.

  • WEKU needs some real games developed for the blockchain. Perhaps it's too complicated but real games that require WEKU to play would be amazing. Losing WEKU Dollars or gaining WEKU dollars (when you win) sounds like gambling, but BURNING WEKU makes WEKU prices go up. Even modern video games have micro-transactions. You wouldn't believe how many times I told my kids I'm not buying a skin for FORTNITE :)

SMT's in regard to STEEM doesn't seem very exciting at this point. WEKU almost feels like an SMT and it was free-source-code. So there you go STEEM. I know you want to integrate STEEM into other blogs, but what the hell.. others are just borrowing from the graphene engine anyways. Perhaps I'm not technical enough, but maybe the issue is that most of us are not technical and that's why STEEM is stagnating.

Well that's my initial assessment. Perhaps I got things right.. and wrong. Please let me know in the comments. To be honest, because WEKU is newer, I feel like posting here more rather than STEEM blockchain. Perhaps it's the bitterness of whales and dolphin's who would rather NOT retain users. WEKU WANTS users. You know that attitude; "if you don't like it, then you don't have to stay"..

Well guess what? I don't have to stay because there is competition now!


credit: Teen Titans Go | Sour Grapes | Cartoon Network

Sort:  

I have a weku account, but I never use it.... Why would I?? It has no value and just a copy cat of steemit.

If the "weku token" jumps up to $1 then yeah I miggt migrate back, but not at the moment.

Fully agree - Weku is just a copy with no original ideas, and offers nothing new or better, so barely anyone bothers with it.

it is just a copy cat... but they just has their initial ICO and it's 1/10 STEEM. So if you were posting.. you could have gotten some new crypto. Not sayign it will usurp anything, but I don't think it's a waste of time. pappa-pepper posts on it constantly.

My plan was to always regurgitation my steemit blogs directly on to weku and collect their tokens just incase they increase in value, but I just don't have the time... More to the point, I can't be bothered. I might give it another go, just to be safe

that's what I have been doing lol regurgitation style ;)

Interesting thoughts but I would be surprised if WEKU surpassed Steem. Thanks for sharing @bearbear613

STEEM is sucking right now. You think you are way ahead until you are cut-down 20% and then another 10%

Yes it's free.. but then again we get tired ;)

is weku even on an exchange?

not yet. ICO was ethereum and steem I think. They are starting witnesses as far as I know. Also BTS was trading it or is trading
IDK

im looking forward to UUU (U network)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77