Ketogenetic diet.

in #weightloss7 years ago

This new diet is becoming more and more popular. Especially with women. Being a woman myself definitely intrigued me into checking it out some more. So I decided to give it a try. This is my experience. :)

If you are unfamiliar, the ketogenetic diet is a high fat, moderate protein, low sugar and almost NO carbs way of eating. Most people I've come across who do the diet keep their carbs under 10-100 carbs a day. Basically what it does, is it puts your body into ketosis by converting the fat that you consume into ketones and using them as your energy source, rather than the traditional carbs/sugar into glucose and using those. Which a lot of people argue that putting your body into ketosis is starving yourself of what your body needs. My personal opinion on that is that it's definitely not. My body is running off the fat that I consume, and SOME of the stored fat. This is why everyone macros are different.

So my macros are 138g of fat per day, 94g of protein per day, 20g OR LESS of carbs per day. And my daily goals are less than 15g of sugar, and at least 100 fl.oz of water. It all depends on what your body type is, your bmi, your height, your activity level and your age. Everyone's will be different. And there are a bunch of ways to calculate your macros. I personally use this website: https://ketodietapp.com/Blog/page/KetoDiet-Buddy#bodyfat

I always recalculate for every 10 pound loss. That way it keeps up with how your body changes.

I decided to start on April 24th, 2017. So yesterday was officially 7 weeks in. The first 7 days of changing my eating habits, I lost 10 pounds. Most of which was water weight of course. After a month I had lost 20 pounds. And I could not believe how EASY it was. I haven't added any exercise into my routine at all. As of yesterday I am down 26 pounds. I cannot believe that just by eliminating carbs from my diet how much I have lost. And how much better I feel. I have more energy. I feel more positive and motivated. And I'm excited to continue this lifestyle.

And something else that I've learned is that you cannot let the scale upset you because it lies. You can stay at the same weight for a week and still be making progress. I also measure myself. And so far, ive lost nearly 8 inches off of my waist. 5 inches from my chest, 4inches off my thighs, and 3 inches off my arms.

If you're interested in learning more about the keto diet and what I personally do, drop a comment and I'll do my best to answer anything I can. :) I love this way of eating and I am proud of my progress thus far. I can't wait to see how my body changes in another month. 1497368872066.jpeg

Now this image is of my progress. I didn't want to take a picture the day I started. Because I wasn't too sure it was actually going to work. But the picture that is dated April 28th is only 4 days after I started. (And please pardon the messy bathroom mirror. The picture was taken at my best friends home and she apparently doesn't know how to clean a mirror. 😉)

Sort:  

Good thoughts

Congratulations @swizzleflower! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!