Losing weight and learning to run.

in #weightloss6 years ago

Progress Nov 14 2015.jpg
So this photo is not the way I started running, but it's as good a place as any to start.

My health and experience were mainly anti-athletic, anti-fit and pro-choice, especially about desserts. When that changed, there was an absolute crowd of changes and thought roiling around. Maybe I’ll get to that another time, but for now, I’ll try to explain the process very simply.

Prescribing myself daily activity as per a terrible internet place called fit, that meant walking on the treadmill at first. I did try running, but that seemed to be a terrible way to treat the joints I love.

Soon after, when asking about weight routines, someone at that terrible place said my results would be severely limited if I did not control my diet. I found Scooby’s Workshop online, and his calorie calculator at http://scoobysworkshop.com/calorie-calculator/ and applied it with rigor.

Next was a bit of basics with dumbbells.

Walking got a bit more developed, and the incline was increased regularly to keep my effort level high.

By July of 2015, I felt ready to start a running program. I chose Scooby’s http://scoobysworkshop.com/run-your-first-mile-then-a-half-marathon/ and was very happy I did. I think it an excellent program for new runners, especially masters runners.

By the way, I used all of Scoobys free workout programs. One of the things he has said is...

Fitness is free. Don't buy anything.

Awesome guiding principle in an area so saturated with misleading marketing practices.

By the end of the training program, I missed my first planned half-marathon due to overuse injury, recovered the injury quickly, and completed my first half-marathon in Edmonton, AB. The Hypothermic Half.

DJK39247.jpg
running across a frozen lake

If you are thinking about starting it, write that thought down. Seal it in an envelope, addressed to yourself with a date 5 months in the future. Plan to open and read it when that date arrives.

I dare you!

Images copyright @nwtdarren

Sort:  

really inspiring. i wish i could do the same

Let's do it! No kidding, we can find you a way.

Great! There is a free learn to run group meeting by Javaroma at 9am on Saturdays, 6pm on Mondays, and if you are in Yellowknife you can come run with them (currently doing 1.5 minute run / 3.5 minute walk)

If you need to work somewhere else in the world, I would still be happy to help where I can. Let me know!

So lets get started then. What exactly do you need help with? Should we do all this where the whole of steemit can follow along and cheer? Or more privately?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03