Want to lose weight?

in #weightless7 years ago (edited)

17310904_10208971474986105_7182182531899411853_o.jpg

The picture on the left is around 2012 and the picture on the right is recent and I have kept it off for over a year.

People ask me for advice all the time.

  1. You have to want it no matter what; no excuses.
  2. All diets have one thing in common, a caloric deficit. This is the most important thing when it comes to losing, not the gym. It's what goes in your mouth the other 22 hours.
  3. Yes, it is as simple as that; calories in and calories out. No gimmicks, no supplements, and no magic. I like to use IIFYM (If it fits in your macros because I lift weights).
  4. I highly DO NOT recommend cutting out certain foods or food groups. I have seen people do this on things such as KETO and it hasn't been sustainable for most. People can develop unhealthy relationships with food and tend to gain more back than when they lost. I eat healthy high volume foods such as vegetables most of the time, but I eat what I want. I don't restrict.

BONUS: these fall secondary to your caloric intake and help but are not necessary to lose or keep it off:
YOU CAN'T OUT EXERCISE A BAD DIET
1.Lifting weights can help a lot by building lean muscle.
2.Also, increasing your NEAT (non exercise activity thermogenesis) help. --i.e. increasing your step count, standing instead of walking
Last, cardio, yes it's hardio, but you don't have to do it! :-)

How do you do this?

  1. Download Myfitnesspal. It's free.
  2. Track what you eat in a week.
  3. Lower that caloric intake by 200-300 calories. If you plateau, lower it again.
  4. Once you get to the weight you want, multiply that weight by 14 to get your maintenance calories.

Yes, it works! It takes patience and discipline, but it will come.

Sort:  

Thank you, @thecryptofiend !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59051.02
ETH 2508.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44