How I lost 24 Kgs (56 lbs) in Four Months!

in #weight-loss7 years ago

Under normal circumstances, I wouldn't be caught sitting here and writing this much text. Some of you that knew me before this change can attest with me. After several Months of procrastination, I decided to write it all down and encourage all interested, in anyway that you might find relevant and applicable to your self and interests. What it took to loose 24 Kilograms in approximately four -five months!!! Well, this note was actually written in July 2013 as a letter to my dear friend ![My Youtube things.jpg]

() Kósunga. I just was never ready to share it, but only with a handful of people who requested to know what and how I got there. Yeah, even I am still in disbelief, but crazy about my health after all!!!

How this whole craze started!

Naivety - I over worked myself, strained more and stressed over work for all the years. Little did i Know, that stress actually makes me gain weight as opposed to some people who loose due to the hormonal changes and all. Between January 2010 and December 2012, I had changed from 65 kg's (Immediate Post natal weight) to 88/89 kilograms. I once in a while got a little depressed and all i could think about was food, food and more food. Sometimes, if not most of the time...with no limits (yes, this is true)!!! Albeit hardly noticing any changes, I felt sick and sluggish, often with a depressed feeling but didn't know what was wrong with me!! I cared less about my health or it being the possible cause of this slaunty feeling. My weight was the least of my worries seeing that I had no pain and no tears over anything. It was two years since last id weighed in 2010; my mind still decoded 65 as my current weight!!! In the mirror, for as long as my face still looked beautiful to me, my clothes fitted well on my back, I literally had nothing to worry about and always assumed everything was in check. New clothes in new dress sizes felt comfortable but didn't have me think twice of the dangers and caution to weight gains at the time. Ooww, how silly and naive of my mind!!!

I initiated my own change!! -

December 2012 End of year Picture – Our office has the usual norm of taking a picture each financial year. Now, my love for pictures is but all I could fight with to be front of the line in the office picture. My usual imagination was that I was not and could never be above a 16 dress size. In other instances, my thoughts had me thinking i was the same size as some girls back there. I was disappointed. Prints of the pictures only told me I was the biggest girl and that I looked terrible even to myself. My biggest shocker was when a lady came by making a sale of trousers. Among the fitting ones was a pair that tightly fitted three sizes up, I could have used the next size up!!! I never in my worst dreams thought I would be over and above a size 16!! The fact that I didn't even look good with my chubby cheeks, wide burst, huge bum and extra big legs wasn't helping either!!! A humble ride on a boda-b always had me compromised to pay a little in excess on top of the boda men telling me of how big or heavy I was. Back home, my mom almost wrote a song on how my weight was overly up there. ''...Nze kwegyo emyaka gyo, nali slender nga nina akawato ka baana batano...''. My self-appeal, esteem and appreciation was dead as it had now sunk deep - ''I could have gone beyond my limit''. Weighing myself at AAR after two years got me dumb founded. I weighed 89 Kg’s; 24 kg’s over and above my higher extreme BMI recommended weight (58-65 kg’s). Although in shock, it was also the beginning of a serious health transformation. I was fed up and done!!! Done!!! Done, being overweight!!

The change starts to take course!

12th January 2013 - I had to travel on a 3 months’ work assignment a day after my shocker!! On the plane, I quietly meditated about my plan to cut back at least five kilograms every month, in time for my come back. Ideas kept flowing into my mind. I picked out a pen from my pocket and noted each of them in my note book. I knew I needed a good goal and a realistic plan for myself. The following were some of my random thoughts;

Overall Weight loss Target - Loose at least 15 kg’s within 3 months ( January – March 2013) and work my body to look like Gabriel Union in four months!!! Lol, Yes, that was the target. This in mind gauranteed me greater health and wellness (catering to the depression and chronic fatigue), fitness (the tight and controlled look), comfort (in nice fitting clothes), higher outer confidence (to match with the the tight look) but in the short run, to bring pretty back into her right age bracket and be able to fit her into a certain size 11 dress as a maid at Lynne Mukiibi's wedding...lol (yes) and to the least, to get someone's attention for always commenting about my oversize weight.

Short term activities and intermediate goals;

i) Do moderate workouts for starters e.g. Briskly walking for 3 Kilometers for 30 minutes per day every day for the first two weeks - Intermediate goal - Lose at least 1 kg every week

ii) Reduce food intake from three to one fresh meal a day restricted to fruits and vegetables during the week and low fat protein and light carbohydrate over the weekend. (Detox purposes and to boost body metabolism, keep muscular energy up while burning fat) Duration: Every day for the first one month
Intermediate target - Lose at least 1 kg every week

iii) Graduate to light jogging for forty five minutes every day for 3 kilometers and dancing for ten minutes.
Every day for the next two weeks. Intermediate goal: Lose at least 1 kg every week and then;

iv) Graduate to intense non-stop jogging for an hour for four kilometers every day for the next two weeks Intermediate goal: Lose 2 kg’s in two weeks

Very funny and unrealistic targets there - I most probably didn't know what i was up for, but anyway, i had to learn a few things for myself before i could turn these targets into realistic goals!

Sticking to the plan, finding Courage Patience and Endurance.

As I struggled to find encouragement to keep going, some people were negative about my whole plan. Comments flew from left to right on how I’d never do it, or how my head would remain big and disproportionate, how I’ll look hungry and malnourished or confused to be among the sick. To be honest, i knew not where all my effort would drive me. (okay i knew about the Gabi union tone in my vision) but i was ready to take any risk, regardless of how big my head would remain or how hungry id look. On the road as I run (well, not exactly running but something that actually seemed like a walk run), some people (especially men) would laugh and call me all kinds of names including, big masavu, fat bombola etc. All those comments at me definitely qualified for my ignoring box which I’d mentally created in my head.

The change however was much slower than I thought and didn't happen as I had anticipated. In three weeks, I had only lost 1.6 kg’s. I knew something wasn't working in my favor and I needed to find it out sooner than ever. At this point, it was important for me to get my patience all together again and to understand that, if it took two years to get there, it wouldn't take me a day to get back down!!! I stopped comparing myself to other people and now had to focus on understanding me and my own body metabolism.

I pinned up my plan, prayed for endurance and mentally prepared myself for the start along with a poster of Gabriel Union – my best Hollywood star on the wall as my ultimate body and look. I envisioned myself with a body firm and curvy as hers. So next, I made available to myself all the necessary workout gear including a pair of 3kg dumbbells for body toning, two good pairs of snickers (Which by the way i never ever owned until then) and workout clad that I thought was appealing to me. My snickers especially were and are still a big inspiration for my workouts.

Sometimes I thought to myself, maybe, they belonged to a star in first hand and their spirit still put their feet in them. Reason - there was absolutely no turning back the minute I had them on my feet and ready for the road. Else - I consistently followed my plan to the letter and was quite enthusiastic to take another workout the next day, despite some light pain, muscle aches and joint oedema especially in the ankles.

Learning my body metabolism - The mathematics to my own weight Control -

Note that, any form of workout is work enough to trim a given amount of weight for a particular body type. So work it in aerobics, jogging, running, walking, dancing, football.... provided you’re comfortable with it. (I’m not saying that u should get comfy since that’s what looks easy for you. ''Push yourself beyond that limit and shock your own body was my slogan''. Where comfort came into a workout, then it didn’t work right for me!!!

Getting my Home work Done!!!

Home work I mean - I undertook some research over the internet about weight loss methods and found lots of tips on both diet and fitness. I however decided to only consider a few, for I knew that every one’s body is uniquely created with each uniquely advantages to particular parts of their bodies. The last thing I wanted was to use workout methods that would leave me looking straight, without curves and with only muscle. Therefore, among the tips selected included;

i) The caloric Deficit tip to weight loss -

Main Objective - To maintain a deficit of approximately 1000 calories per day each week.

We all know that gaining or loosing weight depends mostly on your caloric intake or level of utilization or existing caloric energy within the body right? Now, basing on my research findings, I learnt that, the estimated number of calories required to add or subtract 1 kg of weight is an accumulated 7,700 Kilo calories (K cal), while, an accumulation or loss of 3,500 K cal equaled a gain or loss of one additional weight pound (for those who weight in pounds), regardless of how much time it has been accumulated or lost. Where as calorie counting is a pain and unrealistic to some, it all worked for me. Matter of fact, to the most.

How did I know the total number of calories i needed to consume in a day? At this point, I needed a reliable method to figure out the number of calories I needed to consume in a day, hence the purchase of my calorie weighing scale from Game Accra (also available in Game Lugogo), which on a daily basis gave me assurance and a reliable analysis of my current weight, fat, muscle and water composition, bone mass and a daily caloric count, all based on the BMI analysis and sex of the user. It is also the same tool that I used to constantly monitor the loss for each reading or weight component. Note that, this figure is not static and changes with + or - your existing weight.

How did I know the caloric content of each food element? Yeah, you must be wondering, ''In this Uganda, how the hell do i know how many calories are in each food component?'' well, simple!! You know those little nutrient components on each food pack, yes, those ones, be it on a sweet or packet of chocolate, splash pack etc.. see those little numbers against components like energy, vitamins, proteins etc - yes, notice the corresponding energy composition measured in Kilo calories, Now that's the one you need to know as you enjoy whatever it is you're eating away. for fresh food, you can still know basing on its weight and can google to find out its approximate energy content - for example, i found that an apple had approximately 80Kcal, 200 grams of fibre cereal without milk had approximately 200 Kcal and 100 grams of low fat milk had 100 kcal of energy - and yes, I did purchase a kitchen scale too to know these weights. Focus was driven towards increasing my body muscular tissue and water composition and reducing fat tissue which then, was of a higher percentage composition than either one of the other components). At 87.3 kg’s for instance, a caloric assessment from the machine was an estimated 1570 calories and this number reduced as my total body weight reduced.

Therefore, a deficit of 1000 calories per day guaranteed an accumulated deficit of 7000 calories each week, with restrictions to a food intake worth approximately 500 – 600 calories per day. Note that, during the days of your caloric surplus intake, your body stores away excess energy in form of fat from excess fatty foods, starch and carbohydrates. Therefore, during your deficit days, your body looks for stored energy (fatty pockets) to supplement the existing deficit. The same principle works to explain why more fat bodied people can go for even two weeks without food (only in desperate conditions), than more lean people. Self-imposed starvation should however not be an option for weight loss especially among lean bodied people as the body in turn consumes muscular tissue to create a caloric balance for an adequate amount of energy to survive. Inadequate food consumption will also impair your body metabolism as there’s not enough for it to feed on.

Maintaining this deficit had me watch over my daily calorie allowance like pocket money in high school. the slogan ''Use it sparingly and u won’t go hungry, use it daringly and u will achieve your happiness’’ was my saying all the way. Of everything that I intended to eat, I did a search or read off its nutrient value in calories to be sure of how much I was taking in. YES - TOO MUCH MATHEMATICS - IKR!!! Soft drinks with any ounces of calories were all replaced with water (which by the way is the only drink with a zero caloric count). All milk products were replaced with anything LOW FAT and organic. Food and nutrients were restricted to heavy (stomach filling), highly nutritious foods such as healthy fruits, vegetables and foods rich in omega three fatty acids, mostly common in sea food such as salmon, fish, avocado, nuts such as almonds (for fiber composition) among others. I snacked on low fat foods such as pumpkin seeds (high in zinc) every two hours and between meals to boost my body metabolism. I was advantaged for being in Accra at the time, where all these were cheaply and readily available. (Kampala is however a trick to getting any such food).

Portions of my food were restricted to the size of my fist at each meal as recommended by fitness and weight watchers.com. Past 6:00pm, I didn't eat anything at all as it was advised that the human body metabolism (the body’s ability to convert food into energy) is slowest while inactive (during our sleep or watching television), thus allowing more time to absorb all food intake. While other days limited me to healthy food diets, overtime, the weekend was ‘’theeeee Freakin weekend’’ and I allowed myself to indulge in all the nice tasty things my eyes caught up with, however (dear reader, HOWEVER), not overruling the right portions rule and keeping it low fat but high protein and fiber all the way!!

ii) The intense workout rule and.

I increased my workouts from moderately active (3-5 days weekly workouts) to very active (six days intense workouts). I either run, or danced or walked briskly but was most common to running. My average workout time and distance for each run increased from 45 minutes to a relative 1 – 1.5 hours a day. Workouts were restricted to cardio and weights, however with more focus on my butt and waist, using the Brazilian butt lifts. (Ps: running can wear down your butt to nothing, serious precaution is needed here)

Note that, work outs are meant to aid your metabolism in cutting down your current energy levels inform of calories. As you work out, your daily caloric intake is being cut back by a certain amount of calories depending on how intense the workouts are. For instance, in my second and third month, I run 7 km a day for an hour every day and cut back 300 calories in each run. An intake of 500 - 600 calories in the day would guarantee a cut back of 300 K cal thus reducing it to 300 kcal (you won’t even feel hungry when this happens coz your body is literally picking on your stored energy at this point which ideally appears to be fat on the outside). In total, your daily caloric deficit will be 1300 K cal per day, and if consistently followed in a week can lead to an accumulated deficit of 9,100 kcal, equivalent to a loss of 3 weight pounds or 1kg and a few grams.

iii) The hydration rule.

My boss often asked. ‘’how much water do u drink in a day?’’. Those days, I had no idea!!! Seriously… but I knew it was less than two glasses. However, I learnt that water pays a very critical role in weight loss as the flashing agent. While your workouts and daily diet plan work for you, a number of body cells are killed and need to flash your system rapidly. Ignoring the number of times I had to ''Pee'', a considerable amount of water intake of approximately 15 300ml glasses a day was good for me in my struggle. An adequate water supply to your body also hydrates and fills out some of the pockets, previously occupied by the dead cells and prevents you from looking hungry, unhealthy or mal-nourished. Water also acts as a detox agent a skin hydrant and an aid to your absolute glow. So hydrate, hydrate hydrate!!!!

iv) Your lifestyle and genetics Vs your aging body.

Many people are still naive about how weight management issues can be resolved. I was one of them believing that the ordinary man or woman is limited to that body which grows uncontrollably on our skeletal framework and skin. That our genes limitlessly dictate our body shapes and sizes. That if my mother was over weight, I should be over weight from dictate by genetics!!! That if my whole family were lean, id without a choice have to be lean anyway..!!! Well, I agree to a certain extent, but not entirely. We all can choose to be different from any of our ancestors who were overweight or unprecedentedly lean by having and living a different diet and fitness lifestyle.

In my mind, despite their genetic advantage or comparative disadvantage, all the women/men that have the bodies we look at, desire and admire don’t get those bodies free (well, most of them to be precise). However, they work it till they get it all together again!! You too could be one of those women if u ''works'' good at it!! I mean, all praises go to aging Halle Berry or ''Kim'', for her unending butt, which by the way, comes toned with a few added workouts that keep it all toned and together. Many of us, Ugandan/African women have the potential to look as hot, but wont take out of your comfort zone. Some of us are just too scared to be seen working out, fearing to be embarrassed by un exposed on-lookers , while some of you think the minute you start, your muscles will turn you into a female shaped Johnny Bravo! No - What you don't actually know is that you are in total or absolute control of the outcomes of your work outs. the choice to become masculine or simply toned is yours and not that of your body. Who even said these muscles have a choice over your mind?

What you and I need to know and do the most!

Above all priorities make workouts apart of your daily lifestyle. A day without even sedentary workouts could make some people feel sick. So, ask yourself, what’s your lifestyle? Note that, almost everyone is doing it quietly!!! Haven't you noticed the increased number of people on the road, in the gym, aerobics, dance class that has shot up so high in K'la.. Well, don’t allow to be left out there alone, it could get lonely!!!

The results;

It was exactly five months after my new lifestyle when i wrote this note. Because my body was now stably loosing the weight and used to the daily routine, my metabolism had improved tremendously, No.2's were more frequent, maybe daily, and i was steadily loosing 600-700 grams a week from 100 -200 grams in the first weeks. More than 20 kilograms down and still learning how to maintain and keep it here. I moved more than four dress sizes down to 11 and I acknowledge that these are the happier days of my life. Alas, I am here now. I am on a constant watch every day, monitoring the maintenance and on the lookout every day for any unwanted weight with my beloved scale.

If this can help encourage you down the same road, may you write your own story some day and may it encourage others in a very positve way. Stay committed and stay determined, that's how we together will be a better and healthier generation.

Wish you all the best and I pray and hope God hears your wish too.
Stay Blessed, Di.

After - December 2013.After - December 2013.
I could literally shadow two lean sized gals at the same time. See Lynette Katarahwire asking me to step aside and not cover them! Lol could literally shadow two lean sized gals at the same time. See Lynette Katarahwire asking me to step aside and not cover them! Lol
All they could do was look in shock all they could do was look in shock
See how i held my waist like a MODEL MAMA, LOL didn't know what was coming at me!!!See how i held my waist like a MODEL MAMA, LOL didn't know what was coming at me!!!
I still didnt know this head would get any smaller...but i still took the risk of a disproportionate look.I still didnt know this head would get any smaller...but i still took the risk of a disproportionate look.
AfterAfter

July 2013 - J Lynne Mukiibi's Wedding.July 2013 - J Lynne Mukiibi's Wedding.
July 2013July 2013

Some of the Pics that i Had up Some of the Pics that i Had up
Dream Land was Close....Dream Land was Close....
Post Natal weight Vs the Gabi Look... lol. Dont Crown me for Cross Boarder Admiration.Post Natal weight Vs the Gabi Look... lol. Dont Crown me for Cross Boarder Admiration.
I developed my own monitoring tool against which i noted all the readings off my scale on a daily basis (Both Morning and Evening. I even drew graphs to show progress...I developed my own monitoring tool against which i noted all the readings off my scale on a daily basis (Both Morning and Evening. I even drew graphs to show progress...Picture2.pngPicture4.jpgPicture3.png
IMG_1510.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63