Learning to paint with watercolours! Weekly Obsessions: Week 1 - Monday

It is the start of the week, and I am ready to learn something new! Few days ago, I bought myself a new set of watercolour paint, new brushes and watercolour paper. I recently startet to get inspired by watercolour paintings, and never have I tried to paint in a serious matter, just some doodling now and then. I will this week paint with watercolours, as my weekly obsession, and my goal is to paint at least one picture I'm pleased with.  


Step 1: Test out the equipment
The first thing I did notice, was that it's pretty intimidating to have a blanc sheet of paper in front of me, with no idea of how to start. This was my first time using watercolour from tubes, the only experience I've had with this medium, was the kind of cheap, hard, paint you usually buy to children. I therefore decided to test every colour, to check how pigmented they were. 



Step 2: Watch a ton of youtube videos and gather inspiration from Pinterest
After some minutes with doodling, just to get familiar with the paint, I stared to look for some inspiration and tutorial on the web. Pinterest and Youtube were my main sources, and anything that could help me practise different painting techniques. Motives that I find really pretty, is of flowers and landscapes, so this is what I wanted to practise on. 

Step 3: Start to paint
To become a good painter, I obviously need to practise. A lot. I used the almost the rest of the day just to follow tutorials and to paint after pictures I found online. The difficulty was pretty easy, to boost my self confidence, and to have a natural progression throughout the week. And hopefully, at the end of the week, I will be able to paint my own ideas. 


 

  You can find the tutorial I followed for this picture here!

Preparation for tomorrow
At the end of the day, I went outside to pick some flowers. I wanted to lay them in press, and use them as reference for my painting practise tomorrow. We'll see if it works... 


Until next time, learn something new!
~Natalia

Sort:  

Thanks for posting that. I thought I was the only one that had to watch painting videos to learn how to do something... I watch the video on how to paint grass last week. It was boring, but I did learn a little bit of something.. and believe me I need a lot of practice too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39