The Plan - Weekend Freewrite

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago (edited)

The Plan

I was dressed in a completely inappropriate shade of pink.My neon mini skirt screamed for attention. My white 6 inch heels gleamed at my feet. The white blouse, open at the throat pulled out the blue in my eyes and I stood before the full length mirror and examined my appearance. My hair fell in waves around my shoulders.

When had I become so bold and reckless? What drove this purchase, and these actions?

I drew a curve of a deep pink across my lips and turned slowly to see the back of my long, slender legs.

I was confident of my body. I knew I turned heads.

I was certain what I was doing was right. I pulled the bejeweled purse from my closet and felt the contents, searching for that cool pearl handle. My fingers curled around it, cradling it for a moment, then closing the purse with a snap.

I looked back once into mirror, tossing a look at my reflection.

I tucked the purse on my shoulder and pushed the door shut in quiet deliberation with a white heeled foot.


We were drinking champagne and losing our shirts.

How had I gotten here? The handsome man at his personal bar was mixing another drink. I looked at my hand, cradling a wine glass less than half full. How often had he filled it? I lost count at the bar, but I know of the first two.

He walked back to the sofa, another glass in his hand held out to me.

"Thank you, I really think I have had enough."

"Nonsense! I'm enjoying the distraction."

The sober me would have taken umbridge at this statement. The inebriated me just laughed foolishly.

I reached around to grab my purse.

It was missing. I turned, alarmed, groping the sofa.
It was then I realized my blouse was across the sofa. I caught his eyes and he reached for the blouse with a different smile. Inwardly I blanched and felt a cold creeping up my spine.

He was on to me and I'd walked right into his trap.


The day Lillian learned to drivewas one of the most terrifying days of my life, until this moment.

I realized in an instant that the prospect of hitting that bread truck was far less frightening to what lay imminently ahead if I couldn't sober up fast enough to find my way out alive and with the thing I'd came for that meant more to me than anything, except for saving my own life.


Image

This ends my weekend freewrite hosted by @mariannewest.
I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers. Here is this week's weekend freewrite

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpg
Graphic by @fireawaymarmot

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

I loved reading this, imagining the story that the wonderful elegant woman is you my dear Janelle...hugs dear and have a blessed day😊

Thank you. There may have been a time, minus the gun! Oh, the danger of foolish choices we can make!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Oh my. Your take on this weekends freewrite is in the same flavor genre as mine...

Write on sister! I enjoyed this :)

Now that's the worst situation I could think of ,hope you had escaped from it. Ending came to be really unexpected .

Thank you for reading!, the freewrites are five minutes of 3 timed prompts, often you do leave things hanging. But you can pick him up again and work the story if you like!

I decided to take the time to read one freewrite post before I must turn attention to other things. I'm so glad for the choice. What a fascinating story and a powerful look into how a night like this can develop from feeling powerful in your looks to being preyed upon. What a wonderful illustration of the fallacy of "she was asking for it". Thank you.

Thank you for choosing my Freewrite to be the one you read and for the kind response! I'm following you!

Your post is very very good everytime!

Thank you, dear friend.

Good story!!!

BTW, I left you a 100% upvote here because apparently the one I did for the contest entry didn't go through or something and now I'm too late. I'm so sorry about that!

Thanks so much, dear. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52