The Clean up - Weekend Freewrite

in #weekendfreewrite7 years ago (edited)

The Clean Up

How do you do it?" I asked her. "How do you go on?"

I watched her rinse the blood from her clothes. It pooled in the sink and dissipated.

"You think you can just wash the stains away? You believe he's just gone, like that?"

I snapped two fingers in front of my sister's eyes.

The other young woman bent, concentrating on rinsing every last drop of dried blood from the shirt.

"Shut up! Just shut up! He's gone!" She hissed.

"He will never be back to torment us. I am so glad he's dead. Dead as a door nail!"

Her face took on a strange expression. The hair on my neck stiffened.

"Well, I gotta go. There's not much more I can do."

I backed toward the door, heading for the side of the house and my car.

"Don't go anywhere," my older sister said from between clenched teeth.

I stopped in the doorway, trying to think of something to say to calm her down.

In her right hand gleamed the blade, blood still darkening the hilt.

""She looked at him and said, “Best not flirt with disaster, let it decide to commit.”"
My sister whispered our father's words to me.

"Remember how often he said that to Mom?"she whispered.

"I remember," I said softly.

"Selena, look at yourself? You've become him."

"I am nothing like him!"

She lunged at me. A face not familial, a face not my sister.

I dodged her, skimming my calf on a sharp edged table in the garage.

She fell on the table, the knife flying through the air and embedding on the far wall.

Tears of frustration rolled down her cheeks.

"It wasn't right. They will catch you in time."

"It wasn't right? You weren't there! Not for all of it, were you? You left us. Me and Mom. When it all went down, you weren't here. You were too busy with school and that damn boyfriend. Too busy to call and check on Mom!"

"Say hi to someone with a smile! At least one of us could live their lives! And here you stand accusing me. Me? The one who stayed behind and watched Mom cry, every damn day, Carlee. The one who took care of Dad to keep him from beating Mom!"

"Yeah, maybe they will find me! Mom's still alive in the other room. Maybe you should step in and check on her. Maybe she'll tell you about the last attack.

Oh, wait. She can't talk because of him.

PSX_20180317_231301.jpg
divider.jpg
This ends my weekend freewrite hosted by @mariannewest.
Here is the first prompt: Weekend Freewrite 1

Or get your feet wet here with the Single prompt

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png
wandrnrose7_red.png
rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

Wow - very powerful and dramatic words!! They tear at the heartstrings of any woman (or man) who has been a victim of domestic abuse! Well done to pound into such a difficult topic to address - especially on a three stage weekend freewrite!!

Thank you. I don't know where that came from tbh, the prompts took in a life! <3

Thank you for your story, it's really powerful! Interestingly, I had similar thoughts when I started writing today - seems the first prompt triggers something - and I was still sure after the second prompt that I was heading this direction, but when the third prompt came in, my mind twisted the story completely.

But still, your story is one of my favorites so far among weekend freewrites!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

My heart aches for the sisters and their poor mother! Selena, left with the horrible decision of killing to stop the abuse and Carlee, full of guilt for not being there and scared of what her sister has become. This was a gripping and sorrowful story. I just want to go and cuddle my girls now.

On a lighter note, I hope that you're feeling better and had a wonderful St. Patrick's Day!

Today's prompt is brought to you with a basket of sandwiches from the Freewrite Puppy Cafe. Enjoy their selection of tasty flavors: Sock, Garden Snake, and Toothpaste! Small bottles of crystal clear toilet water are included.

Freewrite Day 150 - sizzling

Thank you so much, @brisby! It was a hard tale that slipped from my fingers. Inspired I think from so much reading of children born of those types of parents.
I'm recovering after much sleep and pray the work week is better this week. Thanks for the kind words and the prompt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83