You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life with Multiple Personalities (Dissociative Identity Disorder)

I've long thought that the way we handle trauma, when that means the land of DID, is kinda ... I always want to say it's breathtaking and almost beautiful. I don't know if that sounds ridiculous or offensive. I don't mean it to be. I just find it creatively amazing how a human will get around themselves when that means the most fragmented of ways, in order to keep themselves whole ❤

Sort:  

Not offensive at all. I have had the same thoughts many times in my own experience. I'm not sure my husband always had the same thought, since one of the alters absolutely hated him and was hell bent on destruction all the time. BUT we're both thankful that I had the mechanism in place to survive and exist/function as well as I did.

I'm also thankful that I was able to (mostly) hold myself together until Patrick and I were together. He was definitely my safe place, because it wasn't until we were together and I had the bone deep trust in someone, that it could come out and start the healing process. Of course it wasn't quite that simple, but it was a start.

I can't imagine it would have been at all simple or cut and dried. I think you're amazing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44