The Eskimo fairy ~ Weekend Freewrite

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago (edited)

The Eskimo fairy



While laying in the corner of the sofa trying to sleep, Dad gave me a wink like we were pals or something. It has been a long day filled with sunshine and laughter but now all I really wanted to do was snuggle down deep, close my eyes and drift off to sleep.

Dad was in the darndest, funniest mood I had ever seen. He kept looking at me like we shared a secret. I had no idea what secret he had in his head, mine was filled with lollipops, gumdrops, and there might have been a sugar fairy in there too, all dress up like an Eskimo but with wings, because it was a fairy you know.

The moment the Eskimo fairy and I were meeting under the gumdrop tree, Dad started singing.

I tried to crack open one eye to look. The war of eyelid's versus's gravity started. Gravity really wanted to win this day! The fight was on because I really wanted to see why Dad had broken out in song.



I tried talking to my eyelid.

I said, "Hey! Dad never sings! Something good must be going on!" but that eyelid really didn't want to listen.

All my brain wanted to do was think back to this afternoon. How the lady standing behind the counter, giving Dad this root-beer-float kind of a smile, you know the one, all full of creamy goodness and little crunches of rootbeer ice.

Hmm ...... Dad sure seemed to perk up after that seeing that smile.





Gert, the lady behind the counter, just talked and talked to my Dad. I'm not sure what they were talking about because I was served my ice cream really, really fast! For some reason, we skipped to the front of the line. We were severed before all the other kids, teenagers and parents all wanting their ice cream too.

I kept getting looks from everyone waiting in line. It got so bad I was wondering if my dress was stuck in my underpants, but nope, I had checked. Checking to make sure your dress is swinging, all around to your knees, is one of those things that you always need to double check or you will never live it down. Just ask poor Krystal the poopinator.

The time Leslie called me a leech was bad enough. She had found me playing with all the bugs I collect but to be called bad names, for not checking if you dress was down, for the rest of your life, I'll take leech any day.





While all this was going through my mind Dad kept singing his merry toon. Dad, while a great dad to have, doesn't sing that well or that often. I then started to wonder if it was because he does sing so bad.

Anyway, there I was still trying to pry my eyelids open and a knocking came from the front door. Dad, singing an old Fred Astaire song at the top of his lungs, all of a sudden went very quiet. The quiet was a bit scary! I tried, once again, to get my darn eyelids open to see what was going on.

My wonderful Dad is never quiet. He's always trying to talk and make things around the house happy. He was just weird that way.



I finally gave up the losing battle with my eyelids. I told my ears to pay attention to all around me. My ears at least listened to me. I could feel them straining hard to hear what was going on in the front hall.

I finally heard from the front door a voice that was none other than Gert herself! I was a bit in shocked at first but then a slow smile came to my face as I realized how much free ice cream I was going to get over coming months and months and months.

With a smile on my face, I finally slept and dreamed of that Eskimo fairy and me eating a rainbow of ice cream.



Hi Everyone!!

This is my Weekend Freewrite.

I am a day late writing it but they are so much fun to do that I did it anyway! I hope everyone has a great coming week ahead and Thank you for stopping to read my silly story!!

Image Source



Love,

Snook





Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 55 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

That story was really sweet and I was just enjoying reading it until I got to this:

Just ask poor Krystal the poopinator.

Holy god I'm still laughing and your last tag made it even worse!

Then my job is done! :D :D :D

Wait! Is Krystal the poopinator the same woman who started the Krystal Clean and Poop Free plumbing service? (They run the best ads on TV!) And gravity wins again! What a sweet little ending! :)

I'm sorry? WHY you had the day off but it's so nice to see your comments hugs and thanks!! I thought it turned out cute too :D

Ha ha ha, brilliant ending!!! You're gas..

Thanks for stopping and reading and so happy I could make you laugh!!!!!!

My pleasure, thank you..

wow... what a dreamlike post full of nostalgia... just beautiful...

Thank YOU!! and thank you for stopping to read and your great comment!!

Love your story, it's told so well and heartfelt!! And I would really love the Eskimo fairy, too! Gosh, endless amounts of ice cream, that's just heaven! :))

oh to be that young again :D YES!! it would be heaven and THANK YOU for stopping to read and your heartfelt comment!! You added more joy to my day!! :D

Lol !! In a war between the urge to meet flying Eskimos and to know why dad's singing, he achieved both of them. Good freewrite @snook, I always love your gentle creative thoughts.

Thank you!!! I love how you summed up the story :D Thank you for that too and for stopping to read mine too!! Hope your day is going great!!

That was the best story ever! You really outdid yourself this time and Snook this one in on me!

That was the best story ever!

Thank you....I'm very humbled and touch by what you wrote. so you took all words out of my head when I read your wonderful comment. hugs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65