Weekend Freewrite 2/3/2018 (The Several-Prompt Approach by @mariannewest)

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago (edited)

iStock_000011501561XSmall.jpg
Image by: Christine Carter

My mother was doing that thing she did. That thing with the rag in the sink. My mom is so meticulous. She wants to make sure that after washing the dishes, the surrounding area should be wiped dry.

My brother and I grew up with a housemaid. However, my mom would keep telling us that she is just going to help us around the house - which meant that we should do most of the chores at home.

I was always assigned to wash the dishes. I was taught how at an early age of 5. Being monitored by my mom as I do the chore, I was trained to maintain the cleanliness of the kitchen - making sure it's dry after using it. She used to tell me to also wash the rag after wiping the surrounding area. It was a lot of work for me. I used to move so slow, I usually took so long to finish the chores in the kitchen.

I always wanted to find reasons not to wash dishes. Until, I found an escape. My dad decided that I should go with my grandmother to attend to my aunt's graduate studies' commencement exercise. It was going to be my first plane ride. It was exciting for me. We were supposed to leave after lunch. But, I needed to wash the dishes. It was so frustrating. Good thing the housemaid helped. And finally, we left.

The plane was two hours late. I felt disappointed because I was so excited to experience my first plane ride. My grandmother was praying for our safe flight. I couldn't talk to her. I had no one else to talk to. I didn't want to roam around the airport in fear of getting lost. Mobile phones weren't a thing of that time yet.

Until I decided to just look around and see things that could be interesting. There was a television but I couldn't hear it. The volume wasn't loud enough for us to hear. Then I saw this man. He was seated 2 meters away from us.

It was so interesting the way he writes with both his left and right hand. I secretly wished I could do it. I walked behind him to see how his penmanship was like when he's writing with both hands.

He wasn't just writing. He was sketching. He drew the airport. And it was so amazing. When he noticed me, he just smiled.

Sort:  

Hala wa ko kabuhat ani. Maayo pa ka. Good job.

gabii ba ko nakasulat..walay time.

even if you grow up with a housemaid. However, mothers will always help around the house, which means that as a girl, we have to do most of the work at home. I'm really love this story.

Thank you @azzaainayya. I agree! mom's still do most of the work at home.

I've met plenty of adults that aren't able to do dishes properly so the mom in me applauds learning how at a young age! LOL! I like how you had one hand writing and the other sketching, very creative!

Should this prompt hit your head I do apologize, it's difficult to aim while flying through the skies!

Freewrite Day 115 - Mason Jar

hahaha. true! now that I'm that I'm a grown up, I'm glad I did the chores at home as a kid. Living independently requires those basic skills. haha

Wow nice freewrite. All parts flowed together like nothing. :-)

Thank you @pixiehunter! :) So kind of you to drop by and read and comment! :)

You are welcome. Freewrites are becoming addicting for me. Not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing, lol.

hahaha..well, i'd say this is the only addiction I am supportive of..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53