You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life with Multiple Personalities (Dissociative Identity Disorder)

Wow, Byn. Did you have any recollections when another one was out? Or just from what people have told you?

I have read several books about this and my heart goes out to you because usually it says that something pretty bad happened to trigger this and you have hinted at that in your life too.
Hugs to you and I really think that you are amazing!

Sort:  

At first, for the first couple/few months after Patrick realized what was happening, I had no idea. I just thought I was sleeping a lot. I would wake up and be in the car in the middle of a drive and have no idea how I got there, etc. I would struggle to remember, but then just assume that I'd fallen asleep and forgotten. He kept trying to tell me what was happening, but it was pretty unbelievable for a while. Until I started hearing them, too. I could hear/see, but I couldn't respond. It was like someone else was at the controls or something.

In hindsight it's fascinating, but at the time it was pretty crazy. Especially for Patrick, who was going through this with no one else to talk to. Once we finally found a therapist who dealt with it and had experience, he'd been dealing with it alone for at least a couple of months. I say "alone" because obviously I wasn't there for most of it either.

Well, no wonder he is a keeper! that must have been crazy scary for both of you and for your daughter (first one is a daughter, right?) too.

So glad that you found help!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44