You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: But, who are you?

A dream again!

If I were you, I'd wonder where I've been bullied like that before. And I would remember it was my son's teacher who cheekily and stiffly claimed not to have said something she had definitely said.

I would ask myself why I remembered this stupid story and whether in the meantime I could avoid getting upset about fearful and uncreative bureaucrats. Then I would remember the story of and the teacher who had the courage to help a pupil to her best and that there are people in the world about whom one has never heard anything except someone tells their story.

... that was now not quite a response to your dream, only spontaneous thoughts...

That reminds me of the question: With what sentence or gesture did your mother impress you the most? Where did she set an example in integrity?

HeHe, I like your helmet :-)

Sort:  

Love that you're responding in spontaneous thoughts--your dream in response to my dream.
You've given me much to ponder and hit some nails squarely on the head. So very interesting that you are tapping into this theme of "teacher," even though I haven't mentioned a teacher, but there is so, so much surrounding TEACHERS! The TEACHER, me as a teacher, the buildings and bureaucrats that demand such dumb actions of proof from me. Yes, avoid being upset by the fearful and uncreative.
I have to say it took me growing up and having my own children and still many years of experience before really being grateful for my mother's example of living a life with integrity. I was thinking the other day about an idea I was taught at church as a child in which it is believed spirit children choose before coming here their parents for the growth their souls need. My mother used to say, "stick up for what you believe in," but more than that, she wasn't upset when I'd had enough with school and ran home during the middle of the day. She was accepting that I'd just had enough of the bureaucratic crap.
Mask/helmet--a wolf and me :)
What about you? What did you learn from your mother?

Me, too! :-) It also took me having my own child to realize that parenting is an art of living not lecturing. My mom said some funny sentences while she was still alive. She always used old phrases/rhymes when she wanted to transport something. For example:

"Blinder, mach die Augen auf, Heirat ist kein Pferdekauf."
(Blind man, open your eyes, marriage is not buying a horse.)

"Immer lustig und vergnügt, bis der Arsch im Sarge liegt."
(Always funny and hilarious until your ass is in the coffin.)

"Die Frieda lädt (das Gewehr), der Oswald schießt."
(Frieda loads (the gun), Oswald shoots.)

My mother was not an apologetic person. She also never defended herself when being attacked by us children. She was only shaking her head and answered: You should stop saying that.

I learned from her to be persistent. When my mom wanted to achieve something she didn't give up until she reached her goal. Combined with an annoying stubbornness:)

I also learned in becoming the opposite of her when it comes to use a nasty tongue. For a very strange reason, she was much less forgiving with women than with men.

I learned that love goes through the stomach :-)

How good that your mother wasn't hard to you when you ran home from school. It's so good to hear that from other women that there is a great understanding between the generations and that finally, so many children forgive their parents to be mistaken or weak.

I think many women are more forgiving of men than other woman and I've wondered about that. Perhaps, they need to toughen their daughters up for an unfair world? A sort of unconscious meanness that prepares?
I love your mom's sayings:) And, that love goes through the stomach!

I really don't know why women towards women are more strict. ... Some time I think it's because we feel more responsible towards children (as a matter of history) and have too little trust in fathers and males. Also, probably out of delusional expectations towards men (father figure, prince, rescuer etc.) ... but digging deeper its probably because of being a women ourselves and identifying with womanhood and therefore focusing on women more than on men? ... I have no definitve answers as well :-) But it doesn't matter ... or it shouldn't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35