The Tale of the Tipsy Tenors

in #weekendfreewrite5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190427_175901642_HDR (2).jpg


"Then play, please," Jonny said. He sang "Dig my grave with a Silver Spade” with accompaniment from 26 maudlin tenors in various states of inebriation, refugees from the 26 tenners competition in the local community hall. Tenors, tenners, it’s an easy mistake but the association of natural-born female bingo callers and shot-putters, world-renowned for their strength in numbers, misunderstood the misunderstanding, concluded that the tenors were taking the mickey, incapacitated said tenors and ejected them from the building quick smart.

Needless to say by the end of the 15th refrain of the Silver Spade, I would gladly have dug 27 graves with only a broken wooden fork, but my shouts of ‘time gentlemen please’ fell on deaf ears, not surprising with the 26 tenors now belting out a downtempo version of YMCA.

I made a move to unplug the amp to end this GUITARIOKI once and for all, but seeing voracious Vera and her portly partner champing at the bit to get on stage, glaring at the tenors as if trying to move them by telekinesis, I was thinking the better of it, when suddenly in a rage, she puts her finger through her hair. Paul who was waiting for a reaction, goes onto the stage yanks the tenors off two at a time, and himself and Vera start their rendition of I got you, babe.

After some flailing about on the floor, the 26 tenors regroup and 25 of them rush the stage, the other having a twisted ankle. Voracious Vera and Pudgy Paul immediately start into We shall not be moved, the tenors strike up with We shall overcome, while I have another go with 'time gentlemen please.' This draws muttered objections from one dude who alleges that he's a lady and complains he's being misgendered, as well as cries of 'me too' from several of the other (male) patrons.

The resulting discordant din is overheard by a passing music industry scout who signs us up as The 26 tenors and a barman featuring Vera V and Pudgy P with backing band the miscellaneous mutterings.

And the rest, as they say, is history.


Posted in response to the weekend free write challenge by @mariannewest.

The three prompts are in bold and the image is my own

Sort:  

from the 26 tenners competition in the local community hall. Tenors, tenners, it’s an easy mistake but the association of natural-born female bingo callers and

WoW @deirdyweirdy ... good 'catch' and without interupting the 'flow' too...??? Simply amazing :>)

I am a good catch Mr. angryman, but I'm also a fast runner with a fine aptitude for keeping the flowing going.
Simply amazing might be pushing it a tiny bit, but maybe I can grow into it.

:>)

I am a good catch Mr. angryman, but I'm also a fast runner

I'd bet a bundle, that you 'are' Deirdy...but, I'm a lot 'slower' at my age and with you being such a "fast runner" ... I'd probably be too tired out to do anything about it, even if I managed to catch you!?!?!?

Wow, You really write like this happened to you now i want to read all the history. Congrats on the signing, I look forward to hearing your album.

You won't have long to wait m'dear. I will shortly be writing several protracted, circumlocutory dissertations on said history, exclusively for Steemit, so stay tuned. As to the album, I'll give you a sneak preview at the next Steemit meet-up.

Sounds like some might have paid a tenner to watch the chaos :)
Great flow through all the 3 prompts
I am here with the next Prompt

8A4D536F-B6CA-4A1E-93ED-90BC10AAE49E.PNG

Hi @deirdyweirdy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.979 which ranks you at #3941 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 92 places in the last three days (old rank 3849).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 148 contributions, your post is ranked at #74.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Howdy dierdyweirdy! haha, brilliant was to work in all the prompts, few would have the talent for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37