Sort:  

Thank you Byn!!! I'm totally in the mood for bloodshed today and the boy getting rid of his psycho father is just making me smile so much right now!! tip!

Today's prompt is being performed by the Freewrite Deku Choir! (They've asked that the citizens of Freewrite please extinguish all flames while they sing as they are a flammable species!)

Freewrite Day 157 - before midnight

I'm never in the mood for blood, gore, horror, crime fiction, police procedurals... but I can't count the number of authors who've reeled me in, over all my objections, and got me to read something dark and brutal. Like this. Eeep! The ending is satisfying - and I just hope the "good son" doesn't follow in Dad's footsteps.

Wow, such a horrible Dad! I wonder if anyone manages to come up with a nice Dad story from those prompts!

After writing this, I can see how it could go in a great direction... if I picture the prompt from my own kids' perspectives. My own experiences tend to bring out the worst. I WILL say that I nixed the direction my brain took it at first and I stopped before I even had three lines written and started over. This was the pleasant version that came out instead! :)

Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment!

Wow, this was pretty gory. I love the idea that there are this sort of odd characters out there, and I love that some people - like you, in this case - write about them.
I had a blast reading this. Really nice story, and I found myself really visualizing the narrator clearly. And, I hate to say it, the dad. Good job.

Thank you. The freewrites seem to bring out my gory side, even though freewrites were really the first time I ever wrote anything really morbid like it, it seems to be a theme for me! I'm glad you appreciated it!

Haa I know what you mean, freewites usually seem to have the same effect on me, too :O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67