I Told You So - The Weekend Freewrite - 2/16/2019

Come join us in the #weekendfreewrite!

The contest @mariannewest and @Freewritehouse gives three prompts and you have to write for five minutes using each prompt - without looking at the next prompt UNTIL you have finished with the first one!

You can find this weeks first prompt here: post

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

I Told You So

"It is a conspiracy, don't you see it?" She walked away from the table, clenching her fists.
I grimaced behind her back as she paced around the room. Everything was a conspiracy according to Sandra. From the shower running out of hot water just as she got the shampoo in her hair, to the stock market being down 500 points. According to Sarah, the great cosmic gods of Karma had her on their shit list.

I have to admit, it did seem that way. Ever since she’d been passed over for the promotion she’d been waiting on for years, everything seemed to go wrong for her. It was one thing after another. These days I hated to even answer the phone when she called. But I didn’t want to be a fair weather friend only, so I always answered.

Last week’s conspiracy was the Great Insurance Scam. She’d finally made her last car payment on her 2014 Hyundai. Then two days later she hit a deer on the way home and totalled the car. Between the $1000 deductible she carried and the low Blue Book value of the car, she was right back in debt again to replace the car. According to Sarah, Bambi and Prudential had conspired to prevent her from enjoying her momentary financial relief.

Two days ago she called to tell me about her altercation with a rotten pumpkin. She ranted on for 10 minutes about being late for her book club at her friend’s house two blocks away. She took a shortcut to save time and swore a rotten pumpkin had rolled right into her path. It exploded into green stringy goo when she stepped on in, ruining her new shoes. When I reminded her I had warned her about cutting through the neighbor’s garden she replied, "Pumpkins can grow everywhere. that is not what I want to discuss with you." I was glad she couldn’t see me roll my eyes. “Well, what did you want to discuss?”

“I want to discuss my mailman spying on me and reporting back to the postmaster. You know she’s good friends with my boss. I came home from work and there was that shady mailman standing on my front porch, taking the mail out of my box and going through it. It was way past the time he should be delivering my neighborhood. When I questioned him, he said he was backtracking his morning deliveries looking for a check he had misdelivered. Like I’m going to buy that story! I’m pretty sure that’s why I didn’t get that promotion.”

Ok, this was far fetched even for Sandra. “And that’s not the half of it,” she continued. “I told him I KNEW what time it was. He just looked at me and held up his arm. And the watch was broken! What kind of mailman has a broken watch? That’s when I knew for sure, he’s a spy. He’s only been on the job for a couple of months, I bet they got rid of the regular guy so they could put this imposter in his place.”

I stared at the phone dumbfounded. I’d seen the gradual decline in her mental state, but I didn’t know it had progressed this far. Maybe she’d suffered a concussion in that collision with the deer. Maybe she had a brain tumor. This was going way too far to just be over compensating for being passed over for a promotion. I asked Sandra if I could come over so we could talk about it in person. As soon as I hung up the phone I’d be calling her mother to talk about getting Sandra some professional help.

Meanwhile, in the back room of the post office, Jake was changing out of his borrowed postal uniform. “Thank God, that’s over, I was sick of playing the mailman. That’s a damn tough job! Here’s the letter I was sent to intercept. It’s a good thing you got that intel this afternoon, because I sure didn’t recognize it the morning when I delivered it.”

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

blueeyes8960.gif


[credit@EdibleCthulhu]


99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Nice! Love the ending! Creepy! Poor thing, even those close to her think she's nuts.

I kind of struggled with that one, lol. Couldn't find an appropriate picture either.

Hello @blueeyes8960, you received an upvote from @upvotebuilders! You are one of the lucky few to receive our test upvote!! You can join @upvotebuilders when it is launched tomorrow by delegating SP to receive a boosted upvote daily and also earn a part of our weekly curation rewards in Steem/SBD!!! Thank you as we look forward to welcoming you in our community.

Thanks @upvotebuilders. I delegated you 50 SP a little while ago. Rock on with this great project!

Hello @blueeyes8960, we truly appreciate your delegation and will be mentioning you on the introductory post tomorrow. Your delegation has already added value to our overall SP and this is great for the community. Thanks a lot.

Our last update post will be going live today. It'll show how to join and delegation levels for upvotes. Thanks again.

I have come with the next prompt
Also please nominate the @FreeWriteHouse for a delegation that will help with the support for the FreeWriters. It would be appreciated.
Find out more here and please hurry :D

already done!

I was rushing through all the weekend freewrites at 2am and thought I'd come back the next day for the actual proper reads ;)
And I'm so glad I did.
Now I really want to know what's going on
Why are they spying on her... what's in that letter... why her? oh the poor thing

8A4D536F-B6CA-4A1E-93ED-90BC10AAE49E.PNG

Great freewrite loved the twist at the end :)

Congratulations @blueeyes8960! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Awww - the twist!!!Fantastic!

Thanks, guess she wasn't quite imagining it all, lol.

I...didn't expect the ending. I'm glad that I really spent the time to read the whole thing, it is really cool.

Can't disagree that sometimes life really goes full shit on you but it's just a matter of swinging along until it gets better...can we have a continuation in which the gods of Karma puts Jake on the shit list? 😂

Yes it does seem a further story could be made of the spy aspect.

Great twist at the end of the story here!

Thanks, I didn't just want to end up with her going to looney bin!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 155 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74