Weekend Freewrite 2/3/18 (Splinter)

in #weekend6 years ago (edited)

Splinter.png

Splinters really can be quite painful. I found that out when I was
very young. We played tag a lot in the backyard. One day I ran
around the wood post which held up our porch cover. Next I
knew, I was stopped in my tracks. I look at what happened, and
lo and behold I had a huge chunk of splinter in my hand. It was
still attached to the post. I broke it off but ended up with it in my
hand.

I ran inside crying from the pain. It took my mother a long time to
dig that sucker out. I had to go to the bathroom before she was
done, and never made it. I passed out in front of the bathroom
door. When I came to, I was sitting on the toilet in a daze not
knowing what just happened. It took her over 30 minutes to dig it
out. After that, I kept my hands to my side as I ran around anywhere.
Guess that is why I now hate needles.

Sort:  

I don't know why I'm commenting - I'm actually trying to forget about splinters because I can just imagine how much pain you had that day! OUCH!!!

Aww, it's ok. Any I have gotten since then have been very small. :-) Thank you for the comment and upvote. :-)

The things we never forget. :-) Darned memories, lol.

You must have shuddered each time you saw a wooden plaground! When you sre a kid, 30 minutes feels like an eternity...

I still shudder with big splinters, meaning anything requiring a needle to dig out. Thankfully my son has only gotten a few. Taught him to dig it out himself.

While snacking on a tasty piece of Snook Fruit, I came across a delicious little platter of prompts left by the Goddess Marianne. As tempted as I was to keep them to myself, they looked too scrumptious not to share.

Freewrite Prompt Day 108

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65