Doing shots

in #weekend4 years ago

Hey what's up y'all! It's early Saturday morning and time to deploy the weekend. I'm excited!

I've got a full schedule this weekend, some of the usual and something less usual (unusual)...But more about that later.

Today I'm heading to my gun range...Not to shoot but to lend some muscle to a few jobs that need doing.

A new range has been cut into the hill-side requiring completion before an inspection and approval by the firearms branch of the police force. It's a handgun range and today we'll be lining it with plastic 44 gallon drums filled with fist-sized chunks of old tyres. There'll be some excavation and building work on the mound downrange also and hopefully by lunch time we'll be done and eating burgers at the pub.

This afternoon will be spent in my workshop tinkering around with some unfinished project or other and I also need to get some ammunition and a gun arranged for tomorrow...Which brings me to the less usual weekend activity I mentioned above.

A couple of my mates have insisted I get my shotgun out and join them for an event. It's clay shooting; Those little orange discs that get flung into the air by a clay-thrower (trap) then shot at. They explode, or break up, when hit. But it's clay shooting with a difference.

They have a bunch of stages set up with multiple clay-throwers on each. They fling clays high into the air, down low and at varying speeds with multiple clays flying at the same time. It's called Sporting Clay Shooting.

Here's some text from the national website.

Sporting Clays is a form of clay pigeon shooting that resembles the unpredictability of real-life hunting situations, with clay targets of various sizes thrown from trap machines at various angles, trajectories, elevations, speeds and distances.

A course generally consists of 10 to 15 unique stations laid out over natural terrain, leading to the sport being dubbed as golf with a shotgun. The variation of clay target presentation is limited only to the imagination of the target setter: “If we can make a clay target fly, it is considered fair game to be shot”.

Golf with a shotgun huh? I'm trying not to laugh out loud at this although a few of my mates have been getting into it lately and have been having a blast! The only use I've had for a shotgun is to have it slung on my back when pig shooting in the advent of my rifle failing or getting charged by a boar...Golf though? Could be funny.

Faith is coming with me for the day and will walk around the course and watch me shoot. I'll probably embarrass myself amongst the hundred-plus shooters there but Faith won't care. One of the lads has told me how difficult it actually is and has set my expectations low as far as what I may hit but they reckon the fun-factor is way up there!

It'll take about 140 shells to complete so could mean a monumental waste of ammunition and a very sore shoulder or a good result...And a sore shoulder.

I'm always up for something different and it should be a decent day tomorrow. I'll see what happens out there as far as how much time I have to mess about and if I can I'll grab some images for a post. I may wear my GoPro also...But video of me missing shit will suck so...You may not see any! Lol.

I hope y'all have something planned and get after the weekend with passion.

If not, well...You can always sit around feeling sorry for yourself. It's your choice.


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Join "The Pew" here.

Sort:  

Trap is so fun.

More fun if you don’t shoulder gun till it’s released and if a person is throwing at a time of their choosing :)

Enjoy!

I'm more about hand guns and rifles than shotguns but this could be a bit of fun I suppose. We'll see tomorrow.

!ENGAGE 20



@steemitadventure you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

I don't mind missing with a rifle or pistol; you can always tell yourself you were probably really close. Miss with a shotgun though; and you really missed.

Possibly, depends what the target is I guess.

Even the plastic shots scare me ha,ha,ha.

Ehh who cares as long as you're enjoying yourself ;D Sounds like a great weekend!

I would love to have a go at clay shooting! Have always thought that it looks like loads of fun! Doubt I would hit anything though haha!

It's not bad fun at all. This is slightly different as they roll them on the ground, shoot the clays at you, and in any which way they can rather than the traditional directions. It should be a lot of fun. Just about to saddle up for the drive now. Will let you know how it goes.

Have fun :)

Howdy again sir galenkp! How did that go? I know it had to be fun and challenging!

Just got back about 30 minutes ago. Was a lot of fun! Shotguns aren't my thing though, so my results were...Well, I didn't finish up at the top...Not that I stayed to see the results come out. I'll do a post sometime.

Very cool! That means you'll do it again?

Yeah, I'll give it a crack again. I'm not the type of guy who likes not performing at my best so I will go back and seek some improvement.

Well if the pigeons were coming out at all different angles and heights I don't think anyone could do very well on their first try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85