Masked Bandits

in #weekend6 years ago (edited)

Like most mornings today I was awoken by my dogs wanting to go “outside”. Our front yard is fenced so I usually just open the door and let them run out to do their thing. Sometimes I will sit on the front steps enjoying the morning air while they run around.

Today, while waiting for the pooches, I noticed a bunch of mushrooms growing in the yard. So I decided to pick them to make sure the dogs don’t end up eating any. After a minute of picking, I wasn’t sure if the dogs had gone back in the house without me noticing or if they had disappeared into the side yard. So I had to go look around.

image
Hmmm where are those dogs?

I grabbed a broom (because our yard is currently a spider web fun zone) and made my way through the yard to look around the side of the house.

image
Any dogs here?

Well, I get around the corner of the house and don’t see my dogs. Instead I see FOUR MASSIVE RACCOONS climbing over the back gate to get into our yard!!!!

image
Reenactment.... 😂

Two are literally hanging over the top of the fence and two others are at the base waiting their turn to climb over. They are super cute, but little dogs and big raccoons do not mix. And this is like a herd of raccoons, out in daylight! So I wave my broom and them to try and shoo them away. They look me in the eye like, “fine lady.... I GUESS we will go away.” Then all casual like they back down my gate and climb over another fence into the neighbor’s yard.

On the one hand I like racoons. I think they are adorable. I want them to have happy raccoon lives. On the other, now I am super paranoid about letting my dogs outside to go potty. Plus, my hubs spotted a coyote a few days ago just a block from our house. We live in a pretty urban area but things are turning all wild kingdom around here. 😄 I am just glad I am the one who came face to face with the racoons instead of my dachsunds.

image
Sleeping gentlemen

Have a great weekend everyone!


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold

47DFF508-11FB-4A90-B352-B7428FE540FA.jpeg
625CBBAC-E35D-493A-809C-4E54C49FEE04.jpeg
FEABAB3E-BC3D-499E-942F-4C3BC724DE5A.png
B0F51614-F121-45DF-B39F-FA3DFCD3476C.png
B739A9BB-6768-4DC2-ABC3-AE581B1909B0.png

Sort:  

At least they weren't zombie racoons.

OMG!!! I forgot about the zombie racoons!! 😂🤣

That’s crazy Dfinney, it’s rare to see one out during the day let alone a pack of them.
I live in a suburban area as well and defenitly have wild kingdom here. Fox, deer, raccoons, coyote, tons of squirrels as well which I can’t stand (I call them suburbian rats). They destroy everything.

Before we bought our house there was apparently a black bear in our yard. I guess it had been on the news and everything. You just wonder where are all of these animals hiding during the day? Then of course I worry about them cause I want them to be safe in a forest somewhere. ☺️

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50