Oris Aquis: 300m Dive Watch

in #wednesdaywristcheck6 years ago (edited)

This is for the watch fam on Steemit. You know who you are.

Screenshot 2018-06-13 22.53.47.png

Mechanical watches are an acquired taste. But once you have it nothing quite else will suffice. Comparing a modern quartz or smartwatch to a mechanical watch is like comparing Donald Trump to JFK. Both get the job done but one is a lot more classy.

And if you are interested in acquiring this boy: 8K bts on dex. Leave addy in comments. Wrist check done.

Sort:  

Although I have never owned a wrist watch in my life (has to with my aversion of accessories) I have always been fascinated with mechanical watches. They inspire the engineer within me like no other object.

I have always been a fidgety individual but even during childhood I wood stand without a single movement as I watched the watchmaker repair wrist watches while wearing his eye lens. Even now when I pass by a watchmakers shop (their are so few left that its heartbreaking) I have this impulsive need to go in to check out the merchandise even though I know that I won't be buying.

My one and only purchase of a wristwatch was for a gift to somebody. It was a memorable one :-)

Lucky recipient no doubt...

You will love this short video about one of the oldest watchmaking houses in Switzerland.

Three words to describe this video - Epic, Epic Epic!!!

Although video starts with Antoine LeCoultre and then how his partnership with Paris based Jaeger developed but my fancy was caught by the tiny wrist watches for ladies of the 1920's era. To solve the problem of miniaturization they arrange the parts in split levels of two. This something that I as an electronics engineer used to in chip designing or even PCB designing - actually a quite common practice to have a multilayered electronics design. Seems like watchmakers were the predecessors to modern electronic design :-)

From Dual wing concept to Atmos to reverser watches.............. absolutely fascinating. So glad ..... so so glad that you shared this. Thanks.

Whoa thanks for dropping the engineering knowledge mane. I love the 1920s Art Deco era as well.

JLC is one-of-a-kind.

I’m a vintage Omega fan myself, love nerding out on cool watches ... on my wish list includes a Bell & Ross in white ceramic which a friend is holding for me already 3 years ... sooooooon!!!!

Very nice. I should have known of this untapped potential here on steemit. Fine gentlemen most are.

Robert this watch is so classy

I'm a wrist watch addict long before the time of cell phone in Nigeria. I could remember spending most of my salary on wrist watch back then, it seems I've changed now... Lol

But, I'm tempted to go for this, it's cool, it's just my type... Lol

@john-robert This is just the perfect watch for me. 300M dive watch?? That's insane. I really love the swim ( on my bio), and sometimes it's really hard to keep track of time when I'm in the water. I would always have to come out and check the time on my phone. But with a classy and water resistant watch like this..I could swim comfortably at all times.

Onek sundor ebong onek lovonio.i love this...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89