Lets See What Spring is Bringing # Wednesday Walk

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

With the weather warming up a little bit these last few days, I figured I'd take a walk around the farm for @tattoojay's @wednesdaywalk, and see what life had sprouted from Mother Earth.
Within the first several minutes of my walk, a sign appeared, telling me that that Spring was truly around the corner. The first Eastern Gold Finch had shown up at the bird feeder.

IMG_2702.JPG

Starting my walk right by the house, a rubber plant is poking its head through.

IMG_2694.JPG

Newly purchased Rose bush ready to go in the ground.

IMG_2695.JPG

A few more pics verifying the arrival of spring.

IMG_2697.JPG

IMG_2704.JPG

This is a great sign. The wild Blueberry bushes I had dug up and carried out of the woods, down some rather steep terrain, have made it through the winter. I'm pumped.

IMG_2708.JPG

Garlic, planted last November, is usually the first thing out of the ground. In total we have about 50 plants.

IMG_2710.JPG

Chives, they come back every year. Boy are they good in smashed potatoes!

IMG_2711.JPG

Walnut tree buds, hopefully they are still several weeks from bursting open. If they open too soon, and a frost sets, the buds will die and several central leaders will develop. This is a pain in the arse, due to the fact that each of the over 200 veneer grade Black Walnut trees will have to be pruned down to one central leader.

IMG_2712.JPG

Miniature Weeping Pussy Willow.

IMG_2713.JPG

Rubber Plant

IMG_2714.JPG

Got me!

IMG_2715.JPG

Long stem Rose bush, just planted today.

IMG_2716.JPG

Wild Daffodils

IMG_2717.JPG

Got me, but I do remember the beautiful bush of blue flowers it produced last year.

IMG_2718.JPG

Wild Tiger Lillies and some more Wild Daffodils

IMG_2719.JPG
IMG_2720.JPG
IMG_2723.JPG

Wild Leeks, these were transplanted from the forest about a 1/4 mile from here. They are delicious. They get a nice bulb at the end, much like an onion. The taste is rather unique, kind of a cross between garlic and onion. Very mellow flavor.

IMG_2722.JPG

Hop shoots, coming from the hop rhizome. These prolific vines will reach 30 feet by the time they start producing the actual hops. Being a home brewer, these come in really handy.

IMG_2724.JPG

Took a moment to move the plank back over the gully. When it rains hard, the gully is brimming with water. We remove the plank for the winter. This is a shortcut through the woods, to my buddy's house.

IMG_2726.JPG

We planted 15 White Pine trees and here are a couple of them. They made it through the winter despite being laid almost flat from the winter snow. Thank goodness for that egg and milk spray as the deer DID NOT TOUCH these very vulnerable trees.
Have deer browsing on your vegetation, well here is a sure fire remedy. 6 eggs to a quart of milk, beat it with a mixer and put in a spray bottle, spray away.

IMG_2728.JPG
IMG_2729.JPG

While walking up the road to take a picture of the place where we got our Wild Leeks from, the mountain side was also waking up from winter. Can you see the reddish hew in these photos?

IMG_2730.JPG
IMG_2731.JPG

A couple of the fields of Wild Leeks, I was talking about.

IMG_2732.JPG
IMG_2733.JPG

Aspen trees starting to do their thing. As they start to come to life they produce a cotton like flower. This bloom is the first stage for them. In about a week, the tops of the Aspens will be filled with these puffy balls. When the wind blows, the air will be filled with beautiful, fluffy cotton balls, slowly making their way to the ground.

IMG_2734.JPG

These next two pictures were taken while I was lying on my back. With the zoom at its max, I was able to capture the tops of some of my favorite trees here on the farm.
These magnificent, old growth trees form a canopy, at the very least 100 feet above the ground. The canopy shades a trail that goes to a section of our Black Walnut Tree Farm.
If you have read any of my stuff, you may know the name of this tree. Would you like to take a guess?
IMG_2735.JPG

IMG_2736.JPG

Yo, @dandays, if you guessed The Sugar Maple or Hard Maple, one in the same, you win two bottles of

IMG_2555.JPG

Well, look what else sprung up. Back in the day, while still living with Mom and Dad, I had a couple of these same flowers growing in my bedroom window. If my memory server me correct, when my Mom saw them, she said "Bobby it looks like you're growing some Phomossoo Plants," I agreed, and have been growing Phomossoo Plants since.

Don't try to look up Phomossoo in Webster's, I spelled this totally phonetically and it sounds like this Pho -mo-ssoo😁😁😁

IMG_2739.JPG

Weather wise, this had to be one of the best days up here in some time. The sky was blue, the temp got to 68, and there was a gentle breeze.
I had picked this Daffodil earlier on my walk, and gave it to my lovely bride.
FIRST FLOWER OF THE YEAR.

Hope you enjoyed! thebigsweed

IMG_2738.JPG

Sort:  

Loved following along your walk on your property so much growing and signaling the change of season is in force
So much growing you must be quite self sufficient

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

I' glad you enjoyed this post and thanks for taking the time to view and reply.

Always Appreciated!
Always Humbled!

It was my pleasure to view your post and nothing to be humbled about :)

🎁 Hi @thebigsweed! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

It’s exciting to see signs of spring. We are a few weeks behind you, so I really enjoyed taking the walk around your farm! That is really neat that you were able to transplant wild blueberries.

Planning to get back to #WednesdayWalk again next week. We had non-stop rain yesterday and I spent my walking time standing on the edge of a rugby field getting pelted by wind and rain. Ah, the change of seasons!

Posted using Partiko iOS

We had two beautiful days in a row, but it is cold and rainy today.
With spring being a few more weeks away in your area, you must live further north then we do.
We couldn't wait to get outside and get some dirt under our fingernails, I sure you are feeling the same way.
Thanks for taking the time to read this post and comment.
Always Appreciated!
Always humbled!

That was a really fun read, @thebigsweed. Your grandkids have memories that will last forever. That maple syrup, oh man!! ’one of these days.”

I just recently posted some outdoorsy stuff myself, I was most fascinated by the pollinating of a vanilla plant—I had no idea!

Glad you enjoyed. Will check out your outdoorsy stuff, should be cool I would expect.
Did you accomplish your goal of one post a day for a week, if so I must have missed 1 or 2.

Yes’ir I managed to pull it off—set, spike, score!! And you know what? You’re not the only one who missed it, apparently @steemitboard missed it because I’ve yet to receive my new ‘stinkin’ badge—my main objective!

Dude, you brew your own beer too? Such a cool family!! I’ll be excited to see what you do with those blueberries too 😉

Brew it, drink it, and share with the family. Like the syrup, it makes for a great gift @puravidaville.

Probably for a great time too 😎

Howdy sir bigsweed! Thanks for the wonderful wednesdaywalk post! Spring and summer are going to be glorious this year! What is a Phomossoo Plant anyway?

I'm happy you enjoyed, and yes the arrival of spring is more than welcomed.
Phomossoo is some type of exotic herd that can be added to many dishes,
once it is dried properly.
Good to hear from you sir @janton

Howdy today sir bigsweed! Exotic herb! You guys are into everything! lol..good to see you back sir bigsweed!

Nice 👍....... let it all pop .... except those WALNUTS.... not yet..... Those SOBS better know to wait by now🤔👨🏻‍🌾

PS. Let’s not get too crazy now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63