Wednesday Walk ~ Along The Flooded Hudson River

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

20190501_113009.jpg
(All photos taken by @paradigm42)
For this weeks #wednesdaywalk initiative started by @tattoodjay, I bring you the Flooded Hudson River.
I took these about a week ago on a walk during a day trip. The river was a good 6 or 7 feet above flood level, yet the water is so calm it is a mirror for the sky.
20190501_113248.jpg
It is common for the river to flood here in the spring, though generally not to this extent. The water table is completely saturated from a large amount of rain, as well as runoff from snow melting in the Adirondacks.
20190501_113709.jpg
Lucky for me the path along the River is well beyond the flood plain. Its a nice gravel path one way, and a pretty nature trail the other.
20190421_142441.jpg
I came across these Canadian Geese along the way. They appear to be taking in the scenery while grabbing a snack. On a side note if you zoom in a bit, you can see how a good part of the boat dock is completely submerged, giving you an idea of just how high the river is above flood level here.
20190421_133403.jpg
Here is a canoe launch currently under water on the other nature trail.
20190501_115122.jpg
I just had to take a photo of this guy who looks to be a bronze of a larger Pileated Woodpecker randomly hanging out here.
20190501_121252.jpg
I hope you enjoyed my walk along the Hudson River. It is a beautiful area and I look forward to coming back here as spring continues to bring everything into bloom!
I had hoped to get out for a walk today, but alas it is a rather dreary, rainy and cold day outside. Unfortunately no walks for me today sigh.. It is a curl up on the couch in comfy clothes and a blanket sort of day lol.
As always thanks for looking in! :)

Sort:  

It is a dreary day here as well so no photo walkfor me but that said I loved your walk that water is so still makes for such cool reflections and love that bronze woodpecker what a cool find

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thank you! :) Its a beautiful spot once you get beyond the lock there. I loved the woodpecker as well. They run nature classes along that trail for kids, so there are some other bronzes of indigenous animals and an outdoor classroom as well. It's supposed to be dreary like this all week up here, though the weekend is looking more promising thankfully.

I just checked the forecast it’s looking dreary here till Tuesday 😖but the weird thing it’s going from 55 today and up to 80 tomorrow with more rain the weather thinks it’s a roller coaster

That’s cool they do outdoor classes there I think there should be more if that

It is nice to have a standby walk, I like the flooded look, granted I am not there, I am not the one being flooded, but it certainly made for some nice pictures.

Thank you! :) Yes it is nice to have a back up lol. I like having a few posts worth of photos and ideas set aside. I just started getting back into posting again after a long drawn out winter here. I tend to lose my motivation to do much creative during the cold, gray months, so it's nice to be to get out into nature and be creative again. The flooding does not affect many people around this area too adversely, but there are definitely other more populated areas that it can be pretty bad for..

Chicago river is kind of flooded over here too. Nice shots the water seems more calm when its flooded.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! :) The water was going down here until the rain started again yesterday. It's amazing how calm the river is during these flood periods. It is the only time I have seen it that still.

I do miss somethings of Upstate, spring thaws is one of those things; it completely transforms the landscape into something surreal.

The river is indeed surreal looking this time of year. :) I do love the changes in seasons here, though I could definitely do without winter lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71192.75
ETH 3667.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75