You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk Tamale Edition

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

Now tamale is something I've never eaten nor seen here in South Africa, but sounds like something I would really enjoy! Judging from the queues they must be good, interesting way of cooking! That must have been a heck of a lot of tamales but a great amount achieved!

Sort:  

Tamale is popular all over Mexico and particularly in the Sonora region (which I am darn near in). They can be quite different from cook to cook, and include all meats and even some fruits. A desert tamale made with pineapple is the one we tried.

Gosh I'm going to have to go look at granny Google's recipes, can't imagine a dessert cooked in corn husks ;) Thanks for that!

I love tamales!! You really need to see about making some so you can try them. I've seriously thought about making my own. I understand they can be a bit tricky to wrap, but probably not to an old pro like you. They freeze beautifully. Just heat them up ... oven / microwave, whatever ... pour sauce over / sprinkle w/ grated cheese -- and voila. Lunch!! I've recently come up with a great sauce recipe if you're interested.

I'll let you know what it was like if I ever do make my own tamales. We usually buy several weeks' worth from a door-to-door guy, too. But I'm feeling adventurous. I've been cooking lately like I'm auditioning for a place in the military.

I'm definitely interested in the sauce, must be all the cooking posts you have to curate that's rubbing off, I'm sure @catweasel is not complaining ;)
I must try making Tamales when I get some corn husks, it sounds so delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50