You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk - Mural in Jersey Heights

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

I don't know, to me it seems like it's okay if the bus driver uses some of the common parlance of the community. The names of things change depending on who is describing them and where they are from. For example, we say "Florence" when referring to Florence Italy. But the proper name is Firenza.

I'll never forget a trip I once took to Israel. I wanted to visit Bethlehem at Christmas time. I was only there for a few days, on a layover from another long-term stay. I asked a local person how to get to Bethlehem and he had no idea what I was talking about. Finally I pointed to the name on a map and he said, "Ah, Bet-LECH-hem!" I was not using the proper name!

Your pictures are lovely. The mural is amazing.

Sort:  

Of course, that’s right when you are a tourist. But we live here, in New Jersey, at the border with New York. Different story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37