Sort:  

Hi @janton and thank you! From my understanding, ice would build up which caused floods. The area is well known for flooding. I love to walk along trails that have water but I would not want to live so close to where it floods. I have a sister who lost her house in a flood..scary stuff!

Howdy today deerjay! Oh I'm so sorry that happened to your sister, dang. Well that would make one super careful of their location when buying a home! Thanks for the explanation.

Thanks @janton and you're welcome! That happened with my sister during Hurricane Isabel in 2003. Luckily, she and family made it out okay.

Well that's the important thing, did they stay in that location and rebuild?

No, they moved and guess where? Johnstown, Pa. They did lose their puppies (I think 3) which were in the basement. The flood caught a lot of people off guard and happened at night. Her husband heard swishing sounds in the basement and when he opened the door, the water was up to the first floor. It was too late to save them. My sister, her husband and daughter were rescued by boat. My boss who lived down there was rescued also and told me a story at work about the couple who were on the same boat and had lost their puppies and I told her that was my sister.

oh my gosh that had to be traumatic! wow. So sad they lost the puppies too but at least they got out.

Yep, it was hard on them for a while and they tried to stay but it was just too much work and they both are not in the best of health so was easier to move.

Howdy tonight deerjay! oh I'm sorry their health isn't great and that they had to leave their home area but I hopefully their new location is safer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67