Wednesday Walk.... Down at the Depot

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

20190925_121122.jpg

This morning I went to downtown Burlington to the old depot. Thought I'd show you a couple of statue thingys that are down there.

Now don't forget..... 2 hour parking or you may get a ticket ! :)

20190925_112507.jpg

I parked about a block away as I had a little business in another store there to tend too.

20190925_120205.jpg

Like lots of other small cities, they are trying to revitalize the old downtown with neat places to eat, art and fun little stores.

20190925_120300.jpg

The old depot is in the center of town. Actually, it was moved a little as the main street use to go right across where it is sitting now.

20190925_120339.jpg

There are some neat commemorative statues associated with the railroad.

20190925_120409.jpg

A little closer....

20190925_120421.jpg

.... and CLOSER !

All of the sudden that song is running through my head and making me laugh "Iiii've been working on the raaaailroad, ALL the live long dayyyyyy...... :)

20190925_120431.jpg

People traveling, coming from everywhere !!

20190925_120444.jpg

...and the workers..... all kinds.

20190925_120516.jpg

Train wheels and grist mills..... textiles.... we had it all !

20190925_120524.jpg

They preserved the old depot. Now it is a museum, but I'm not taking you in there.

20190925_120528.jpg

....and another. :)

20190925_120918.jpg

To one side of the front now there is an amphitheater where on the weekends there is live music and sometimes outdoor plays.

20190925_121445.jpg

You want a tour of the restored caboose? You will need an appointment for that !

20190925_121139.jpg

A couple more caboose photos....

20190925_121122.jpg

20190925_121206.jpg

THE END !

20190925_121054.jpg

I'm funny !.... right ??? :)

I made this post for #wednesdaywalk hosted by @tattoodjay

It was a fun walk. Let's do it again later.

Hope you are all having a pleasant day.

Love you !

Jacey

choo chooooooooo

Sort:  

This was such a fun post to read, and don't worry I have had those things appear in my post and not been able to get rid of them, not that I noticed them of course ;)
Not only was it funt o read, but such cool sights you shared with us

but now I have that song inmy head lOL

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

I have had part of the code show before, but each time when I went back it was obvious what part of it wasn't right and I fixed it. This time I did look, but couldn't find it and wasn't in the mood to hunt it longer.

Thanks ! It was fun to take the photos and it was fun to be outside on my happy day off.

Sorry about the song..... ok.... not TOO sorry ! If I had to hear it, so did you. LOLOLOL !!

ITs Ok about the song its not a bad one and kind of fun :)
I havent been outside much for the last few days and its driving me nuts but tomorrow I will be out and about ;)

Ok... the code got on my last nerve, so since I had a break for a few, I went back in and fixed it. LOL !! Jeepers !!!!

LOL I had a feeling you would go back and work it out ;)

Yeah..... after I got away from it for a while, it was more obvious when I went back. At first it looked like it was over the photos (on my side)..... but later when I went back over the blog, it was to the left making my photos lopsided...... and we just couldn't have that ! ha ha

I am the same and sometimes taking a break and going back later its so much easier to find what the issue is

Oh ! Thank you SO much ! 💛

It's a pleasure! ;-)

I found this post thanks to @miti-blog work, and his Curation Project: Undervalued Deserving Contents. Your work deserves way better, I'm happy to give you my upvote. Cheers, Nicola @knfitaly

Coltellinaio per passione e non solo...

Trentino - Italy

@knfitaly Thank You ! This is very kind of you. ✨

Hi @jacey.boldart, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Oh Wow ! I certainly do appreciate this !

Thanks bunches !

HaHa! I was thinking of that song too. What a quaint town and I really like the statues. Thanks for this fun walk Jacey! Darn! I just got a ticket. LOL!

Oh No.... I didn't mean to keep you walking so long you got a ticket ! ha ha... I'll go half on whatever it costs. hmmmm wonder what parking tickets are going for these days. I'm glad I don't know !

Thanks for stopping over !

HaHa! I don't know how much parking tickets are either and I am also glad that I don't know. : )

Nice statues and looks like a pretty cool town 👍

Thanks !

It has a nice share of railroading history. Now there is a more modern depot on the other side of the tracks for when Amtrak trains come through.

Everything has got to move forward got to keep up with today's demands 👍

Your post has been upvoted by us in cooperation with @bdcommunity.

Thank You ever so much !


Congratulations @jacey.boldart!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68225.97
ETH 3275.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66