You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walking with Grief

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

It’s amazing how humans attach emotion to a thing especially in times of grief. What once was possibly a trivial thing becomes more important. I suppose,for the old lady, it’s the experience (the moments) she shared with her husband, tending the garden together, that she’s really holding on to though, also the years they spent together in the house creating their own lives and memories.

Good post.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thanks. I always wonder how I would feel, but I train myself in non attachment. I dont think I could anticipate grief though, and how I would feel leaving memories behind, even though they are with me, not the thing. I always think it would be tougher to stay here without my beloved!

Grief is a terrible thing, but a part of life. I'm not sure one can be fully prepared. I know I never am.

It's a shame. I was listening to a podcast this morning about it. Partly, it's due to how it's sold to us - we are taught to fear everything because it suits the mainstream medical paradigm. How wonderful it would be to see illness, death as just something that happens in this human experience. Suffering is only suffering if we see it as so. Hang on, that made me feel wise. Don't be thinking I'm wise - I'm just a total hack as scared as death as the next person.

It wasn't that long ago that death was seen in the way you suggest. It probably had something to do with the fact it happened a lot more - The common cold or a virus was likely to kill a person 150 years ago, for instance. Also I guess because some people believed that once they departed things really got lively - In places pitched to them as idyllic and heavenly. Not that I know though I guess, I don't know anyone who has been there and come back to tell the tale.

I've seen a bit of death in my day and to be honest I'm not scared of it. I'm not ready to go myself just yet of course, but the thought of it doesn't hold a lot of fear for me.

Death is a part of life in reality, for humans, animals and even planets...In my mind, knowing that brings more focus to life and living my best version of it.

A phrase I live by...


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

When I'm dead it won't matter anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35