I'm moving to California!!

I have lived in the Philadelphia region all 42 years of my life. Winters here are literally hell. I can't go outside at all during the summer without mosquito bites all over my body. I invested in a small plant business with the intent of selling house plants online. My county has since been quarantined because of a plague of the invasive Chinese lanterfly. The house I have been living at is being sold by the end of the year, and it is time for a change!

flower 5.png

Besides video production, homesteading is my biggest hobby. It is my livelihood. I have chosen the Colorado low desert in growing zone 9b so I can grow my own food pretty much all year long. I'm going to be starting a new video series all about it, and they will be here on Steem, of course!

tomato 4.png

Land is extremely cheap near the saltan sea. I'm looking at a 5 acre plot in Imperial County, and a 10 acre plot in Riverside County. The are both a few miles East of the largest lake in California. I understand it is smelly in the summer. Land is even cheaper in the higher elevation mojave desert in San Bernardino County. I might buy a plot up there to spend the summers.

mint flower 2.png

I am a member of Homesteaders Co-op, but I can't really sell anything. I tried selling candles online for many years, but no one buys them. The cost of shipping is too much. Lots of people search for rare plants, and I know how to grow and market.

ww bamboo 5.png

Living in an RV on your own property might not be lawful. I might not even ever be able to build on the land. It's cheap for a reason. As long as I can grow plants and trees on it, I'll be happy. The worst thing about living there will be rattlesnakes.

succulent 2.png

I will be completely off grid. There is no electric or water at any of these cheap parcels. Internet will have to be by satellite. There is Frontier internet in the area. I might have to go to Starbucks to upload videos. I've been watching many horticulture Youtubers who live in the area. They all seem very friendly. I might try to befriend them and collaborate with them. Slab city is pretty close. I don't think I would wanna live there, but there are Youtubers living there who seem pretty normal, and I would like to meet them.

ww hydrangia 1.png

My first #WednesdayWalk by @tattoodjay is all from my backyard nursery and garden. It will be a challenge to make absolute sure I do not bring any lanterflies or their eggs to California. I would hate to give them up. Rubbing alcohol is supposed to kill the eggs. I will be sanitizing everything obsessive compulsively. I'm taking lots of bamboo with me to hide my camp, and to block the wind. I'll get other kinds of bamboo more suitable for the desert when I get there.

mint 4.png

tomato flower 3.png

succulent1 pootted 1.png

lemon balm 1.png

All photos taken with my Canon Rebel T6

Sort:  

Nice to hear you are moving to California. You should also join the @socalsteemit community then!

Wishing you luck with the move and decision of where to exactly go!
I've never lived anywhere but the state I was born and raised in... just the thought of moving causes me anxiety... let alone moving so far!

Wow! You have lots of adventures ahead! Wishing you all the best!
!tip

Wow! You have lots of
Adventures ahead! Wishing
You all the best! !tip

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You've been visited by @porters from Homesteaders Co-op.
Hey! Good luck on your move! That will be wonderful to be able to grow your own food all year round! Quite a difference from where you live now! I hope your plants all make the move fine too! --- Homesteaders Co-op A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com follow: @homesteaderscoop

Rattlesnakes aren't that bad at least they warn you of their presence. I'm not sure how fertile the soil is near the salton sea though... it might be tough to grow anything there other than cacti.

Posted using Partiko Android

You just gotta amend the soil. Mulberries, bamboo, and citrus are alright in the native soil with not much additives. I'm going to grow them around the perimeter as a wind block. I have to meet this guy.

Greta shots and good luck with the move and your new adventures

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

🎁 Hi @edgy-ed-morrison! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Stepping Back In Time Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00