A Wednesday walk and dreaming of London at Christmas

A Christmas window display at Selfridges in London

dec20thumbnail.jpg

I have not as yet made my London trip before Christmas. I promised myself at least one visit just to do photos of all the wonderful Christmas deco that happens in that amazing city. Yet, I am still happily sticking to the English countryside. Shall I make the trip before Christmas? I honestly don't know.

So, for today's #wednesdaywalk I'll share some images from the last time I was in London 2016

Another amazing display in Selfridges. You can see the red double-decker buses in the window's reflection.

dec20london8.jpg

Another avante-garde sort of Window display.

dec20london4.jpg

All the streets and thoroughfares are always so decked out this time of year.
dec20london3.jpg

The colours are not always traditional Green and Red and Gold either.

dec20london6.jpg

But there is Gold,
dec20london2.jpg

and Silver
dec20london1.jpg

And Carnaby Street joins is as well
dec20london5.jpg

dec20london7.jpg

Of course even at Christmas pasts I was still a creature of the Coffee Shop

and my favourite place in London was the caffee Nero that was connected to the Church of St. James on Picadilly and Jermyn st.

dec20london9.jpg

It is an amazing place as you can sit in the courtyard of the church and they also have free world class concerts every tues and thursday. I heard some wonderful things from 4 piece string to operatic arias to amazing piano concerts here.

And off the courtyard this time of year (and other times as well) they have an open air bazaar peddling some wonderful wares by local artists and vendors.

dec20london10.jpg

It is making me want to go all the more. Though I have told myself if I do not make it before the New Year, that is also fine. As one can find some wonderful sales and also find the city a bit quieter in January, which is always nice.

I also took a good morning ramble with Ivan the dog today.

dec20ivan.jpg

But, that will have to be a post for another day.

I've my tea made and am settling into my little studio room here in the house to get down to some work. I am considering how to best approach the coming New Year with what I would like my Art New Year's Resolution to be. I shall have to have a think on it.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Wednesday and that you had a moment to take a good #wednesdaywalk.

Please feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means leave a comment.

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

I got so jealous of your walk!!!
I need some time off for a holiday escape...

Well, @ruth-girl you could take a 'local holiday' and give yourself a day to go and pretend you are a tourist your area and just look at the sites, sit at a cafe sipping coffee and strolling through a museum or book shop. You deserve a break of some sort :)

London sure knows how to decorate for the season. Thanks for sharing Donna and have a wonderful day.

Those window displays are incredible! I can image how much fun it would be to put them together. I’ve also never seen such large outdoor decorations since most shopping centers here are indoor.

I envy that caffe with the live music, it sounds like so much fun. I hope you’re able to make it to back London. Spending a day to enjoy the sights sounds like the perfect leisure activity.

@vermillionfox, I LOVE window displays. When I had my little flowershop, it was one of my favourite things to do. It would be amazing as a job. I had a friend who was an interior designer who got to do them, so jealous.

Oh, I'll definitely go back to London, but I think I might skip the hustle and bustle of Christmas this year. It's just I've been so busy from the move and adjusting to the house and living with my friends, that I need to just chill in the country a bit more. But, in January, when it is a bit more quiet, I'll enjoy it all the more.

Oh, beautiful London! How fun to see it with all of these Christmas decorations. It is so beautiful. But then so is the countryside.

I know @melinda010100 I just Love England, city or countryside, so it's just a joy to be here no matter what.

Thanks for sharing these what cool displays they have and I cant blame you for staying inthe country side when I retire and no longer work in NYC I doubt I will visit it or if I do it will be a very rare event

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

I really do love London, well at least the little bit of it I like to sort of walk about and use, but the comfort of the country just has been happily lulling me into contentment. And Canterbury, though a tiny town compared to London, still has enough 'city' to amuse me (cafes, concerts, some museum, street performers, shops, and the cathedral) So, I guess @tattoodjay I'm not even feeling guilty about it :)

You don't think you'll miss the city when you retire? I suppose I like the city in short bursts but do seem to gravitate towards the countryside.

I am a country boy at heart so although I may miss the city sights a little I doubt I will be drawn back to it to much
I have visited London a few times and it is such an interesting city to explore
I only visited Canterbury once but it’s such a charming area I loved it there

Amazing photos, Donna ! The xmas spirit is very vibrant at your neck of the woods !! I love all the decorations so much <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66882.49
ETH 2597.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71