You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk - Durban Storm Aftermath at Lily's Cottage

Oh my word @lizelle, I am so glad you didn't suffer any further damages. How much rain did you have? Electricity didn't fail right? I feel so badly for your neighbor, it is amazing the amount of damage water can do in such a short time. You are right though, the sun still comes out and luckily she has a wonderful neighbor like you to help her while she gets back on her feet!! Be safe, and watch out for those sink holes...they can be deadly, homes and cars are swallowed up in them in my state. Scary stuff! Keep us in the loop!

Sort:  

Apparently Durban had around 165cm overnight which broke previous records so no wonder there was so much damage, it's also very hilly terrain and that's what caused a lot of landslides.
I think I worded my post wrong, it was our guests' neighbours whose retaining wall collapsed and damaged our current guests' house. We're just thankful we can help them with accommodation for now but it's going to be a long while before they'll be back in their own home again. They say about three quarter of their house is damaged, they may have to build from scratch if the foundations are damaged! Their property is very steep!
The sinkholes in our garden is quite small, but hubby won't touch it till it's dried out more.
Up in Gauteng they have those massive sinkholes that just appear out of nowhere, and I think it's because of the mining that goes on there.
The sun was out today and things are drying out!
Thank you for your concern my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62468.23
ETH 2442.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61