First Step into Web Development and Steemit!

in #webdeveloping7 years ago

So, this is actually my first post on Steemit. I know that usually the first post is about an introduction of the person, but since I am not really good at introducing myself I'll continue with my first experience as a web developer.

I have been fascinated with computers ever since I was a child. The first PC that we owned was from a company with a forgettable name and it came in the standard 90's white/cream colour.

white pc.png
The roller ball in the mouse gave endless entertainment during powercuts

Then I owned a laptop for almost 8 years. It too was nothing special, but it still provided countless hours (or minutes) of fun to my teenage self. Right now, I am writing this post on my new laptop which I bought last week. It is not a spec'd out behemoth, it is a low-budget laptop, but I like it as it gets the job done.

That brings me to the topic of this post. Web development. I must say for a person who has used computers for most of his life I am a complete novice at writing code or doing anything worthwhile on a computer. Except for games.

coding face.jpg
When the only thing in coding you know is <stdio.h> and <conio.h>

I have always wanted to pick up coding but never really got the time to do it. (see: college, school, slow internet) But after I got this laptop I decided that it was finally time to learn it as it'll help me in my career. Maybe. So, with a vigor I tried to search for good online courses to learn code from. I was bombarded with different sites like udemy, codeacademy, The Odin Project etc. I'll admit it was pretty intimidating . The decision of which programming language to learn and invest my time in too was a daunting task. Some people suggested Java and some swore by C. I went with Kotlin. Despite having very less programming language I am a huge tech geek and after seeing Google make Kotlin the official Android development language at Google I/O I had my eyes set on it. (Was thinking of making of an app which will make me millions lol) But as you would expect, the online tutorials for learning Kotlin were non-existent and the ones which did crop up were in no way gonna help an amateur loser like me. I abandoned my pursuit of trying to learn Kotlin after the customary "Hello World" program.

Kotlin.png
Kotlin. Murdered me before I even started.

Poor, beaten, defeated, rekt WarHorse09 was just lying in a puddle of his own tears and finally willing to accept the fact that programming was not for him, when he happened to stumble upon a post on Reddit. That dude said he was uploading all of his course material about web development. For Free. Now from what I have learned in my life is to take all the things which promise to be free with a grain of salt. I registered for his course but promptly forgot about it a few hours later. I didn't check out the course or the course materials. But today, as I was sifting through my emails , I found an email from his site asking me to confirm my account. They had sent it the day I had registered for it. I was almost going to delete it. I paused. I again read the email and changed my mind. I was going to check out this course and if it did not smell fishy I was going to complete it.

upskill.jpg
That is how I landed here

It is a site developed by Rob Dey who is also the narrator of the course. I set up my account and jumped right in. I won't deny, the first few videos were boring but Rob had warned about it before-hand. Then came the programming part. I had to make an account on Cloud9 IDE to continue. It was a big hassle to find out how to make a free account without giving out my credit card details but I finally figured it out. After that I was instructed to code on Ruby on Rails, which is a programming language. He taught few basic commands and the basic overlay of the IDE and we jumped straight into making our own server on Cloud9 to host our blog. Few confusing commands later, My first blog was up and running.

Blog.jpg
It is ugly so I am not sharing the URL

It felt really cool and I am looking forward to continue with this course. Will keep you guys updated on it.

Really long P.S. - As an amateur to the world of steemit and web developing forgive me if I may have done some mistake or mentioned a false fact. You can see by the tabs open in the browser that I don't really know how to type articles/posts and make them more appealing. This is my first ever article on any site (except for Facebook posts) and I hope to keep improving in future. Also, I don't even know the difference between coding and programming. I don't even know if there is a difference between them and if they are the same so I am sorry if I have made a mistake in my post and wrote something else entirely.

P.P.S.- The reason why i decided to post on steemit was because of the name 'Ruby on Rails'. My train of thought was...
Rails- Railway- Steam engine- Steam- steemit
so...uhh..yeah.
See you guys later!

Sort:  

Nice journey :)

This comment has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 4.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @pisolutionsmru. Vote for Aggroed!

follow me plz

Upvoted via steem chat from Emma

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by warhorse09 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @warhorse09! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16