Do you keep your webcam covered? I do!

in #webcam7 years ago

Does the thought of someone watching you all the time scare you? Well, if you're normal, it should be a scary thought. Laptops have become an indisposable part of the modern lives. And chances are that you always remain connected to the Internet. With the advancement of human intelligence, following someone has become extremely easy.
I have become very intimidated by the thought of someone watching me all the time and I have put a sticker on the laptop's camera to reassure myself that no one is doing so. I may be going a step forward to feel safe but some of us do put GPS in cars or an extra lock at home just feel secure.
Mark-Zuckerberg-Tape-camera-and-mic.jpg
I have been doing since 2014 now but recently an episode of Black Mirror season three got me intrigued and I started searching more about it. I found out the top celebrities and security agents like Mark Zuckerberg, ex-FBI director and more such people are covering the cameras.

Should you?
Cover.jpeg
Why not? I am sure that after getting the cameras integrated into out cellular devices, we do not use the laptop camera much. A sticker on it may not mean anything but it like an insurance policy. You do not know it will happen to you till it actually happens.

What about phones and mics?
Well, if you really want to safeguard yourself from being snooped. I suggest you watch a video made by Edward Snowden on how to make your phone hack-proof but to start with, covering that small lens of the laptop will somewhat keep you safer. As the technology advances, we should also advance our thought processes.

What do you think about it? Do drop in your comments.

Sort:  

Yes, the though of someone invading our personal space is scary. Even we give permmision to hundreds of apps to use our camera, mic, location etc. And even big companies like facebook and google were accused of spying recently.

It all started with me discovering google map history - it was like a spy noting down every move. There have been so many cases now of various apps recording your conversations for example. Like how ads pop out while browsing the internet - ads of things that you didnt search online but spoke about with your friends when your phone was around :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68