What is this thing, called "blog"?

in #web6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-10-25 at 16.21.07.png

This is an example of my blogging style fifteen years ago. It's a bit different to what's "acceptable" today. One of the questions we tussled with was "Does weblog mean a log of the web or just a log on the web?" And of course the answer was, it can and should be both. It was a log of my time on the web linking to things and people and stuff, and therefore building more web.

A lot of the activity I see on Facebook is just the same as this. But instead of us all having our own space that we can easily hyperlink to, in a good old webby way, links get passed through all sorts of analytics and ad-stalking shit and often just keep you in Facebook. I do want a Facebook-like experience, but I'd be happy if you all kept a blog (yeah Steemies, I know you do) and I could have an aggregator of my own choosing and we didn't have to be forced into this bi-partite symmetrical following relationship garbage. Aaaaagh! I want it to be 2003 again (except I don't).

One of the "rules" that I break often and would really like to follow more was something like "send them away and they'll come back more" (actually it was Dave Winer who said much more elegantly "People come back to places that send them away." he was also responsible for that early blogging software I was using: Radio Userland) ie enrich your post with links, help build the web, make connections between things, show where you got your ideas from and people will keep coming back to you because you're a trusted source of good stuff.

Yeah, I should do that more here (3 links is a start), that's easier than trying to make everyone go back to 2003 for sure.

Sort:  

Yeah I visited and surprised to see the date and at the bottom of the page, I found your Good Name as Copyright 2003 © Lloyd Davis.
I am enjoying your Blogs since 9 months (Approx). But first time to read your old writing.
Well in second paragraph you told about Facebook, so I think Facebook is not much good platform for learners of Blogging because of their open policy. Everyone can write false and "copy pasted" materials which can tussled new Bloggers. Other "Blogs related" websites are much better for learning and practicing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83